Monday, January 11, 2010

Review: Goth Girl Rising by Barry Lyga

Title: Goth Girl Rising

Author: Barry Lyga
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
Over-All Rating: 4.0/5.0

Summary (from Amazon): "Time is a funny thing in the hospital. In the mental ward. You lose track of it easily.
After six months in the Maryland Mental Health Unit, Kyra Sellers, a.k.a. Goth Girl, is going home. Unfortunately, she's about to find out that while she was away, she lost track of more than time. Kyra is back in black, feeling good, and ready to make up with the only person who's ever appreciated her for who she really is. But then she sees him. Fanboy. Transcended from everything he was into someone she barely recognizes. And the anger and memories come rushing back.
There's so much to do to people when you're angry. Kyra's about to get very busy."

My Review:  When I began to read Goth Girl Rising, I had the idea of a humorous, getting revenge on all the things that went wrong in your life, type of story.  Well, it was close, but in a way, it was far from it.  When you read about a person being released from a mental hospital, you know your in for one heck of a ride.
My thougths as I began the book?  Well to be honest, it started off kind of slow.  You weren't really sure what was happening, and the reasons for everything Kyra mentioned along the way, but it all connected as the story went on. 
The whole plot was unique in its own way, and it kept you going, even if the action had slowed down. 
The story itself led you on a roller coaster of emotions, making you wonder what kind of twists and turns were coming your way.
I felt sympathy for Kyra, and sometimes I wondered why in the world she did some of the things she had done.
I have several complaints though.  A lot of the time while reading the story, I only felt like I was "reading" words, not really being placed within the setting.  Ever had that feeling?  Sometimes, I felt like I couldn't connect in with the story, or I didn't feel like I was in the setting of the book.  Does that make sense?
The book was written in sections. 
One of the sections was named "The last time I saw her."  This goes back to the last time Kyra saw her mom in the hospital, dying of cancer.  I found it unique how it would start, then end, then begin with the exact same beginning, except more of the story would be added each time, until it ended.  I thought that was pretty cool, because I haven't seen that in a story before this one.
Although Kyra was stubborn, and sometimes mouthy, I found her to be more strong than any of the other characteristics.  Yeah, some parts of the stories she had silent parties with the rest of the goths, involving drugs.  But she refused to give her self away, and become a slut like her other two friends, as well as most of the school.  I was happy for her.

Overall, I found the story to be within the coming of age type, because she delt with a lot that teens go through today.  Whether it be drugs, sex, or suicide, she got through it all, and set some good examples.  And as I read on, and got to know the characters more, the more I got into the story, so it's not like you're going to be confused while reading it.
Cover Rating: 7/10

*Since the new FTC laws had passed, please assume that all reviews come from books authors/publishers send me in exchange for a truthful review, unless noted otherwise. I do not recieve an income for my blog.

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Teaser Tuesday+Waiting On Wednesday

Sorry about not having my Teaser Tuesday post up yesterday!  It totally left my mind since I had a review to come up with as well as schoolwork to finish.  So, I'm going to post it up today, as well as my Waiting On Wednesday post!

Teaser Tuesday:
If you are interested in participating in Teaser Tuesday, here is what you have to do!
*Pick up the current book you are reading and open to a random page.
*Choose 2 random sentences from that page to share.
*Make sure it is nothing that will give away too much of the story.
*Post the author and title of the book as well, and have fun!

Title:  The Seven Rays
Author:  Jessica Bendinger
"I blinked and the dots appeared as Shirl vanished." 
"I woke up a few hours later to the sound of my mother crying in the other room"
Well, I hope you enjoy those teasers!  I absolutly love the book so far, so I can't wait to put up the review as soon as I'm finished.  Here is my Waiting On Wednesday choice, my very first one of 2010!  Wow...

Title: Numbers
Author: Rachel Ward
Release Date: February 1, 2010

Description (from Amazon): "Ever since she was child, Jem has kept a secret: Whenever she meets someone new, no matter who, as soon as she looks into their eyes, a number pops into her head. That number is a date: the date they will die. Burdened with such awful awareness, Jem avoids relationships. Until she meets Spider, another outsider, and takes a chance. The two plan a trip to the city. But while waiting to ride the Eye ferris wheel, Jem is terrified to see that all the other tourists in line flash the same number. Today's number. Today's date. Terrorists are going to attack London. Jem's world is about to explode!"

What do I think? Definetly different from anything I have ever picked up at the library, that's for sure!  Even though it may sound wrong, the idea of the whole story seems unique and in its own way, captivating!  I am hoping for my bookstore to come in with this book when it is released next month, because I am most likely going to buy it.  As for the author, I haven't read anything by Rachel Ward, but it sounds like she is a very creative person, and a good writer!

The cover? Well, it ties in with the description pretty good!  The cover is what really caught my attention when I first saw it.  It is unique in my opinion, and would stand out and catch a persons attention in a book store, which is what you want, right?!  Great job on the cover art!

Gothgirl Rising update:  I know I had promised for the review to be posted the other day, but I couldn't get that to happen like I said.  So later tonight, it will be posted and ready to go!  Also, expect my review for The Seven Rays to be up in a couple days as well!

Monday, January 4, 2010

It's Monday! What are you reading this week?

First off, I want to thank J. Kaye's Book Blog for coming up and sharing this weekly meme.  Click here to check her blog!  If you are new to this like me, here are the guidline's if you are interested:

    •  Share books you have finished the previous week
    • Share books you plan to read and possibly finish for this week.
    Books I have previously read:

Goth Girl Rising by Barry Lyga.  I planned to review it tonight and have it posted, but I had fallen behind because of schoolwork.  This review is going to take me some time to create and put up because I have so much I want to share with you guys!

Books I have started for the week/Plan to finish:
The Seven Rays by Bendinger
Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Saturday, January 2, 2010

FTC Regulation On Blogger's?

I've heard about a possibility that a FTC regulation law may be passed concerning blogger's who review items that are mailed to them, or reviewing items, such as books.  But I am not too sure if it had passed, and I want to make sure what it is about, so I won't get into trouble with the law.  Could anyone inform me on what I should be doing to be on the safe side? 

Friday, January 1, 2010

I'm participating in 2010! Challenges and Meme's.

A new year, and a fresh start at blogging!  For this year, I plan to participate in more challenges than the past year I've been blogging!  These challenges include:
So, there you have it.  If I happen to come across any other challenges I am willing to take part in, I will definetly leave you a post.

As for weekly meme's, I want to get more involved.  I am planning on doing the following:
  • Waiting On Wednesday
  • Teaser Tuesday
  • What are you reading on Monday's? (Though, I am not too sure what the rules are for this one, I had visited a blog that had a post)
  • In My Mailbox
  • Booking Through Thursday
If you know anything about the Monday Meme could you please clear me up on the process of posting the meme?

I am feeling pretty confident about the challenges I am signing up for.  As for the meme's, I cannot wait to leave posts!  I wish I was creative enough to make my own meme.  I will be adding the buttons for the events and memes, along with a link to the blog who had come up with the event as well.
Thanks for reading, and have a wonderful New Year!

Currently Reading(s): Goth Girl Rising

Thursday, December 31, 2009

New Year's Resolution and Challenges For '10

Ok, so it's time to get serious about the New Year, which, if I may mention, begins tomorrow!  So, I have come up with some resolutions regarding my blog, and the reading I will perform this year!
  1. Read at least 1-2 books a week, and post up the reviews ASAP*
  2. Post everyday, or every-other-day.*
  3. Improve on how I've been writing my reviews.
  4. Become more efficient at contacting Publishers and Authors about interviews, as well as becoming more organized.
  5. Comment on other blogs more often!!!*
  6. Stick with one layout for at least 2 months before chaning it again (Personal LOL)
Well, I think I may have covered most of my Resolutions regarding my blog.  If I think of more I will definetly post them.  What are your resolutions, if any? I have also been having trouble finding some new Reading Challenges to participate in.  Can anyone help me find some interesting ones I might be interested in?

Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Contests for my sidebar

Since I still have quite a bit of space on my sidebar, I was thinking I could gather some contests happening around the blogosphere, and add them to my sidebar. If you are hosting one, or know of someone who is hosting one, I would love for you to leave a comment to this post, or email me at, so I could post them up here!

If you decide to do so, please include the name of the blog and a link. As well as what the promoter is giving away and the ending date! Thank you so much!

I will also be going around searching for some contests myself, and asking for permission to put the information on my blog!

New Year's Resolution: For my Blog

Has it been a while since I typed a post for my blog. It's kind of depressing. And well. I hope none of you have forgotten about me or this blog!

Because for the new year, I PROMISE to be more worthy of my reviews, my blog, and my wonderful followers. I have to admit, I haven't been in the mood to touch a book, or to bother writing up a post coming up with excuses. The reason? There are no excuses! I've realized I've been spending all the time I used to spend reading some amazing books, on Facebook, or watching TV, or schoolwork! And I REGRET it A LOT. I cannot believe I have thrown pretty much all of my hard work away because of some laziness!

And I got to thinking. I'm going to change it! What a greater way to begin in the brand new year of 2010, since it's only what... 2 days away?!

Well this is going to be my New Year's Resolution! To start my blogging again, and reconnect with my book blogging friends, and the amazing Authors and Publishers that helped me along the way!

I'm back everyone, and with a bang! Haha!
Please, please, please forgive me for being MIA the past couple weeks...ok, months!
But I will not be missing for that long again!

I'm planning on organizing my blog, following up on some of the recent comments that were posted, and getting my books organized on my TBR list.
And now, I am super excited to be back in the blogging world! Oh how I've missed it!