Thursday, December 31, 2009

New Year's Resolution and Challenges For '10

Ok, so it's time to get serious about the New Year, which, if I may mention, begins tomorrow!  So, I have come up with some resolutions regarding my blog, and the reading I will perform this year!
  1. Read at least 1-2 books a week, and post up the reviews ASAP*
  2. Post everyday, or every-other-day.*
  3. Improve on how I've been writing my reviews.
  4. Become more efficient at contacting Publishers and Authors about interviews, as well as becoming more organized.
  5. Comment on other blogs more often!!!*
  6. Stick with one layout for at least 2 months before chaning it again (Personal LOL)
Well, I think I may have covered most of my Resolutions regarding my blog.  If I think of more I will definetly post them.  What are your resolutions, if any? I have also been having trouble finding some new Reading Challenges to participate in.  Can anyone help me find some interesting ones I might be interested in?

Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Contests for my sidebar

Since I still have quite a bit of space on my sidebar, I was thinking I could gather some contests happening around the blogosphere, and add them to my sidebar. If you are hosting one, or know of someone who is hosting one, I would love for you to leave a comment to this post, or email me at, so I could post them up here!

If you decide to do so, please include the name of the blog and a link. As well as what the promoter is giving away and the ending date! Thank you so much!

I will also be going around searching for some contests myself, and asking for permission to put the information on my blog!

New Year's Resolution: For my Blog

Has it been a while since I typed a post for my blog. It's kind of depressing. And well. I hope none of you have forgotten about me or this blog!

Because for the new year, I PROMISE to be more worthy of my reviews, my blog, and my wonderful followers. I have to admit, I haven't been in the mood to touch a book, or to bother writing up a post coming up with excuses. The reason? There are no excuses! I've realized I've been spending all the time I used to spend reading some amazing books, on Facebook, or watching TV, or schoolwork! And I REGRET it A LOT. I cannot believe I have thrown pretty much all of my hard work away because of some laziness!

And I got to thinking. I'm going to change it! What a greater way to begin in the brand new year of 2010, since it's only what... 2 days away?!

Well this is going to be my New Year's Resolution! To start my blogging again, and reconnect with my book blogging friends, and the amazing Authors and Publishers that helped me along the way!

I'm back everyone, and with a bang! Haha!
Please, please, please forgive me for being MIA the past couple weeks...ok, months!
But I will not be missing for that long again!

I'm planning on organizing my blog, following up on some of the recent comments that were posted, and getting my books organized on my TBR list.
And now, I am super excited to be back in the blogging world! Oh how I've missed it!

Saturday, October 17, 2009

In My Mailbox!

I am so glad to be back in the book blogging community! I am terribly sorry for being MIA for the longest time, and Im sorry about all those blog posts that kept leaving excuses. Trust me, there will be no more of those.
So, Im starting off with an IMM post, which was started by the Story Siren!
The Bought:
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Impossible by Nancy Werlin
The Borrowed:
Sophmore Switch by Abby McDonald
Need by Carrie Jones
The Recieved:
Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment
Maximum Ride: School's Out-Forever
Maximum Ride: Saving The World, And Other Extreme Sports
Maximum Ride: The Final Warning
Maximum Ride: The Dangerous Days Of Daniel X (by James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge)
Maximum Ride: Daniel X-Watch The Skies (James Patterson and Michael Ledgwidge)
Maximum Ride: Max
Maximum Ride: Manga edition, #1
(all Max Ride Books were written by James Patterson! Thank you so much Dina, for sending all of these books out to me!)

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
Hush, Hush posters!

Gringolandia by Lyn Miller-Lachmann

Captivate by Carrie Jones
Invisible Lines by Mary Amato
wow..that was a great week! So, what did everyone else get?!
And thanks to Dina V. and Becca Fitzpatrick for the books and promo items! It is greatly appreciated!

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Review: Jumping Off Swings

TITLE: Jumping Off Swings
AUTHOR: Jo Knowles
PUBLISHER: Candlewick Press
OVERALL RATING: star rating - 5 stars Pictures, Images and Photos


Ellie just wanted someone to love her. To protect her from the cruel and complicated world around her. As well as the scars and painful memories that engulf her from the carefree past she used to share with her best friend Corinne. But nothing is that simple anymore. The trips to the swings in the neighborhood park no longer mean the silly competitions to swinging the highest, or jumping the farthest.

Nothing has been the same ever since that night when Josh deserted Ellie in the backseat of the van, to tell his friends how far they had gone. Nothing has been the same ever since Ellie had started this new trend.
Not only had Ellie been effected by the unexpected pregnancy. But so has Caleb. Ever since grade school, Caleb has always had feelings for Ellie. Not the feelings every other guy in school said they had for Ellie. But the true, caring feelings. The feelings where he would hurt just as much as Ellie if anything happened to her. And now? He is devastated. Even though he is friends with Josh, he doesn't understand what Josh and the other guys are thinking. Even if they don't know about the pregnancy. Maybe it's because he has a mother he can go to for help and advice, unlike Josh, who's mother lives at the soup kitchen, and a father who is either rocking out with his so called band, or snoozing off a 6 pack.
Eventually, Ellies stomachs grows more noticeable. As well as everyones attitude toward her being pregnant. The word SLUT is forever engraved on her locker, her parents seem to want to be away from her, and Josh stays his distance. Remembering the desperate and sad look her eyes gave off as he abandoned her in the backseat of the van. What will Ellie do when it comes to giving birth to the baby filling the empty space inside of her?

Jumping Off Swings tells it like it is. The novel allows you to view the hardships, sadness, and the tough decisions that had to be made, through the eyes of friends, family, and enemies as well.
Everything expressed throughout the book, was raw, real, and without any doubt, painful. Having to see someone who was once full of life and happiness, now crushed by several guys, and a pregnancy that she is left to deal with, must have been the hardest part to read about. Everything was put together so well, there isn't one thing I would change about this book. Though. If I could. I would help Ellie, but the truth within each page is what brought me even closer to understanding the message. Feeling awful and hopeless for Caleb, knowing he is watching the one person he once cared so much for, crumble to pieces, is what really bothered me as well. I could hardly stand it at first, though, things did turn out for the best.
I cannot describe the feelings and emotions I felt while reading this book. It will effect each reader differently, and that is why I urge you to read it. It is worth your time.

Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Happy "Release" Day....


And to Becca Fitzpatrick for creating this awesome day!


I have heard so many excellent things on this book, I don't know where to begin! Luckily, I had recieved an ARC, and will read and review it ASAP!
Happy Birthday and Congrats!

Monday, October 12, 2009

Cirque Du Freak Giveaway!

Its time for another awesome giveaway, don't you think?!

Well, if you thought so, you got it!
Have you ever heard of the hit series, Cirque Du Freak? I have! Well, did you know it will soon be released in theatres? It will be coming out on October 23rd, and it is called The Vampires Assistant. Sounds awesome, doesn't it!

Here is some more information if you are interested in learning more about the movie/book:

Cirque Du Freak: The Vampire’s Assistant, based on the popular series of books
by Darren Shan, is a fantasy-adventure about a teenager who unknowingly breaks a
200-year-old truce between two warring factions of vampires. Pulled into a
fantastic life of misunderstood sideshow freaks and grotesque creatures of the
night, one teen will vanish from the safety of a boring existence and fulfill
his destiny in a place drawn from nightmares.

Book Info:

3 Titles:
Do you love to be scared? Then don't miss the terrifying adventure
begins when Darren and his best friend, Steve, get tickets to the
FREAK, a wonderfully bizarre and creepy freak show. Brace yourself
for thrills
and chills as the boys witness a parade of grotesque creatures
and face their
deepest fears by entering the darkest world of the vampire.
In the
blood-curdling tradition of Anne Rice and Stephen King, CIRQUE DU
FREAK will
have you shrieking for the next horror show!

You can visit the site here or watch the action packed trailer by clicking this link

So are you interested yet? If not, keep reading! *Trust me*

How to Enter?
Since Cirque du Freak has caught much attention lately, you get the chance to chose your favorite Cirque du Freak t-shirt saying, by voting below! You must vote in order to be entered, and it will be tallied as one point. Once you have voted, let me know by commenting to this post, letting me know!
Also, those who are now following, will get 2 extra entries, once they vote on the shirt saying, and letting me know by commenting!

New followers as of today? You get 1 extra point added once you vote! Just comment to let me know!

The Prize?
Two lucky winners will each receive a book set, complete with 3 books from the Cirque du Freak series! As well as a Cirque du Freak: The Vampire’s Assistant Locker Mirror! Totally cool!

1 Entry by Voting for the t-shirt saying below
An additional 2 entries for past followers
1 additional entry for new followers, as of today!
1 additional entry for blogging about this contest on your sidebar or blog post!

Older Followers= 4 Entries if you did them all
Newer Followers as of today= 3 if you did them all!

Want to become a fan of The Vampire's Assistant? Click here to become one, by following the facebook fan page!
Hurry! Contest ends in 2 weeks!

Vote Here!

Friday, October 9, 2009

I'm sorry ='(

Hey everyone. I feel terrible about not having a review posted for EVER. Its just that I have been super busy, and have been fighting a reading slump that never leaves.... I know, that has been the excuse for the longest time, but it's just that I haven't had the energy to read, even though that may sound ridiculous to some people, but I'm sure some of you understand what I am going through?

So, the past couple days that big pile of review books that need to get read have been mocking me, to where I feel this heavy guilt build up every time I look at them (Sometimes I try so hard not to) I have decided to get at least 2 books read this weekend, and get back on track!

My choices:
1) Jumping Off Swings
2) Maybe Hush Hush
or...Meridian...or Eyes Like Stars...

Probably Jumping Off Swings and Eyes Like Stars/ Hush Hush....
Ugh, decisions!

On the other hand, there will be a big contest/promotion being posted up tomorrow, so check back for that, and I am planning on getting my sidebars filled tonight, so they wont be so empty!
Thanks for being patient everyone! I greatly appreciate it!

Monday, October 5, 2009

Winners Of The Max Ride Prize Pack Promo....

Here is the moment you all have been waiting for...those of you that entered for the Prize Pack anyways! Thanks to Random.Org, It had chosen 2 lucky winners, to each receive a Maximum Ride Prize Pack!

So, the winners..............
Lyndsey and Raelenna!
Please, email me with your mailing address, so they can be shipped out to you! And, I will be posting about another awesome promotion sometime this week, so stay tuned!

Thursday, October 1, 2009

Promtion and Review Update!

Ok, so here are a few updates. I'm sorry I have been lacking on reviews. School and reading slumps don't mix well. But I'm finally pulling myself out of the horrible slump!! Yay! So expect some reviews being posted for sure!

And my contest winners for the Max Ride Promotion will be posted tomorrow evening, so check back tomorrow to see If you were one of the lucky two!! Also, I have rounded up a few authors to kick off the Authors, We Know Your Secret 2010 Book Countdown. Unfortunately, I need some more time to get things prepared foe this new meme, and I apologize. If you are interested on learning more, I did a new post about it below.

A new promotion will begin tomorrow as well, so check back!!!! It's going to be exciting! Thank you for being so patient with me! I am no long MIA! Woo hoo!

Monday, September 28, 2009

Authors, We Know Your Secret: 2010 Book Countdown: Clearup!

Ok... So maybe i made things a little too complicated about my new meme! But dont worry! Im going to clear some things up in this post for you.

The Rules And Regulations:

1) Any blogger can participate, as well as any author and/or publisher that will have a 2010 Book Release.

2) You must post at least 1-2 times minimum for AWKYS (What to post, and such will be found at the next section)

3) You must fill out the participation form at the bottom of this post, if you are able to do this meme.

4) Please, post the image of this meme to your sidebar and/or blog post, leaving a link to THIS post where new bloggers can learn about this as well.


How It Works:

Authors, We Know Your Secret is a 2010 Book Countdown, where you can ask permission from the author and/or publisher of your choice, who may have a 2010 book release, that you are looking forward to in 2010! If you have an author that has accepted this meme, you may either interview, host live chat, promote a giveaway-promotion, etc, to get there 2010 Release as far out as possible to other bloggers who may be interested. But once you get your author, would you please email me at reviewabook123@hotmail, with the date your promoted author will be hosted on, so I could do a daily update of AWKYS around the blogosphere? Please include your blog name/link as well, so I could do an easy hyperlink to you. Authors, you can email bloggers to, if you want to be promoted for your 2010 Release. Just include some info on your book, so us bloggers can take some additional interest in your title. A trailer, summary, photo, additional info site links, your blog link, and possibly a teaser, would be some of the best options!


Ok, so maybe you are too busy, or do not have an author/publisher to promote one week. THAT'S OK! I know how busy a schedule can get, so don't take this meme like a job or whatever. Its just for fun! Just let me know WHEN YOU HAVE AN AUTHOR to promote, so I can add the details to a daily/weekly scoop post on AWKYS! I plan for this meme to kick off October 1st, and I already have some authors pending their decisions, or who have already scheduled some dates! The sooner the better! If your author decides to let you promote their book by a giveaway- or swag giveaway, that's awesome! Please be sure to thank the authors, and let me know, so I could add those details in a post for you as well. The items you are giving away, and ending date would be great to add in as well.

This meme will end January 1st, 2010. I'm thinking about coming up with a Best Author-Book Choice poll, or something like that, to spice up the ending of the 1st Annual: AWKYS!

So, does this clarify things a bit? Basically, it's kind of like Author In The Spotlight, with more promotion opportunities, as well as strictly 2010 Book Releases, and Upcoming Authors of 2010. And what do you think of the name for this meme? I kinda like it.... Please, remember to add the meme button to your sidebar, as well as the starting date and LINK TO THIS POST! Thank you so much, and if you have anymore unanswered questions, or comments, let my know via email or comment to this post.

Authors, are you interested? Email me as well, or a blogger who is taking part in this challenge!

Sign Up Here:

**Instead, just leave your name, email, blog link, posting decisions, such as how often you think you'll post, etc. to a comment for this post!**
[To copy image, just copy and paste into word document, then upload to sidebar, until I can get a link-to widget to make it easier and faster for you]
Here are some upcoming awesome contests and promotions!!

First off. I have a Max Ride Promotion going on now, and ending soon!

My next promotion:
Cirque De Freak prize packs!!!!

later promotions:
1 winner will receive 2 books by Amber Kizer: Meridian, and One Butt Cheek At A Time!
1 winner will receive a hardcover of Path Of A Hero!

And there may be even more coming since my new meme will kick off October 1! Also if the posts I have made about the 2010 meme, didn't make sense. I Will make a clearer post tonight explaining it better!

Sunday, September 27, 2009

In my mailbox!

IMM was started by the amazing Story Siren!!

Here's what I received this weekend!

The borrowed:

The bought:
None (Haha I'm broke at the moment =O)

The received:

-Lockdown by Alexander Gordon Smith
Release Date: October 27, 2009
Copy provided by- InGroup
Summary(Provided By Amazon)
-"Furnace Penitentiary: the world’s most secure prison for young offenders, buried a mile beneath the earth’s surface. Convicted of a murder he didn’t commit, sentenced to life without parole, “new fish” Alex Sawyer knows he has two choices: find a way out, or resign himself to a death behind bars, in the darkness at the bottom of the world. Except in Furnace, death is the least of his worries. Soon Alex discovers that the prison is a place of pure evil, where inhuman creatures in gas masks stalk the corridors at night, where giants in black suits drag screaming inmates into the shadows, where deformed beasts can be heard howling from the blood-drenched tunnels below. And behind everything is the mysterious, all-powerful warden, a man as cruel and dangerous as the devil himself, whose unthinkable acts have consequences that stretch far beyond the walls of the prison.
Together with a bunch of inmates—some innocent kids who have been framed, others cold-blooded killers—Alex plans an escape. But as he starts to uncover the truth about Furnace’s deeper, darker purpose, Alex’s actions grow ever more dangerous, and he must risk everything to expose this nightmare that’s hidden from the eyes of the world."

Title: Dreamhunter
Author: Elizabeth Knox
Copy Provided By: InGroup
Summary (provided by Amazon)
: "Grade 5-9–Laura Hame and her cousin Rose, 14, live in a recognizable early-20th-century society, realistically portrayed but for one thing: the Place, discovered about 20 years earlier by Lauras father. It lies outside geographical boundaries, and only select people are able to enter and experience dreams there. These dreamhunters then perform their received dreams for large theater audiences, and those in attendance go to sleep and experience them. At the time of this story, dreams have become big business and are embroiled in issues of social control (especially the control of prisoners) and power politics. When Lauras father disappears, the girl takes enormous risks first to try to find him, and then to complete his mission. While the author leaves tantalizing clues throughout the novel, the plot moves slowly at first. However, patient readers will find themselves rewarded by the riveting action in the final third of the book. Relationships between the characters, especially Laura and Rose, are given center stage, but their interaction flags in the middle of the book. Particularly touching is the relationship between Laura and a golem-type creature sculpted out of sand in the magical world of the Place. Dry, unchanging, with nothing either fully living or dead, no wind or sounds, it is eerily suffused with atmosphere and powerfully portrayed. This novel, the first of a duet of books, concludes neither with a cliffhanger nor at the end, but in the middle of the action. It will appeal to lovers of fantasy set in the real world, who will eagerly await the resolution in the second volume.–Sue Giffard, Ethical Culture Fieldston School, New York City
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition. "

This is the best week I've had so far lately, but I'm expecting more things coming my way, including some Hush Hush swag!! I am super excited for that! Also, expect a review in the next day or so! Please, comment and tell me what you think!

I also have the first author lined up for the "Authors, We Know your Secret: 2010 Book Countdown" which will kick off October 1st! So stay tuned to the upcoming event you can participate in! It's going to be a blast!

Friday, September 25, 2009

Weekend Reading List:

To get back on track with my reviews, I'm planning on doing a weekend reading list!

Books That Need To Be Reviewed:

*Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick!
*Max by James Patterson (Click here to win 1 of 2 sets in my current promotion!)
*The Texicans by Nina Vida (AITS coming soon!)
*Praying For Snow by Jennifer Reynolds
*Her Strong Tower by Victoria King
*Lockdown by Alexander Gordon Smith**
*Dreamhunter by Elizabeth Knox**
*Meridian by Amber Kizer
*Eyes Like Stars by Lisa Mantchev
*Jumping Off Swings by Jo Knowles
*Rumer & Qix by Kathleen S. Wilson

What I plan on finishing this weekend? Crazy list above huh?! haha!
**Jumping Off Swings
**Hush Hush?
and maybe....
**Rumer & Qix.....

That's my REVIEW pile! I still have to read all of the books I have bought yet! Trust me, you DON'T WANT to see that list! haha!

I'm also going to be getting my blog organized, so I'll be online for a while! Email me at if you would like to chat! I'd love to chat with some other bloggers!

Also, dont forget to read about my new Meme, "Authors, We Know Your Secret: 2010 Book Countdown!" Scroll down and check out some of the posts describing how this benefits authors, publishers, AND bloggers! It's going to be a blast, so sign up!

Thursday, September 24, 2009

"Authors, We Know Your Secret: 2010 Book Countdown" details!

I've decided to stick with the name for my new 2010 book countdown meme to be "Authors, We Know Your Secret!" Do you like it? Also, if you are interested, the button for this new meme is posted on the sidebar, or below on the post explaining some things about this event...

Anyone can participate, once it begins on October 1st. Just sign up on the sign in sheet posted below, so I know who all is doing this as well.

*You must promote an author/book that is coming out in 2010 at least 2 times a week or more, depending on your schedule. I understand if you cannot make a post, or there isn't enough time, but just let me know via email if you cannot make a post.

*Email me once you get an author, so I can post about it on my blog, so everyone else knows who is interviewing/promoting who. (More Details Below)

*If you are participating, please put the button with each AWKYS post, or to your sidebar with a link to THIS post.

*2010 Book Countdown will end January 1st, 2010!

Email me to schedule a post:
*please provide your blog link, date for interview, Person(s) being interviewed, any type of giveaway as well as special offers being added to your AWKYS post. Please, let me know at least 2 days in advanced when you have an interview/promotion set up regarding AWKYS 2010 countdown. I would love for you to do this so I can post about your blog post and get the authors, as well as you, more views.

Does this post make sense? If not, tell me to clarify better! More details coming soon!


Those of you who spread the word on this new meme by linking, and giving the title, plus the button, will each receive an extra entry to my Max Ride Promotion! Please, let me know by commenting to this post, that you have done so. You must have entered the contest first, before receiving any bonus points. If you have not yet entered, please read the post carefully here.

*Post to sidebar, or blog post
*Include: Button(

*Title (Authors, We Know Your Secret: 2010 Book Countdown),
*Link to THIS post, and/or this summary: "If you are interested in learning more about the undiscovered 2010 YA book releases, or want your book promoted, then go Here(Link to this post)"

Comment once you have done so, leaving your link to the post, or sidebar.


Wednesday, September 23, 2009

New Meme Button + WOW

Hey everyone! I have a button for my new 2010 book countdown Meme! And I think I came up with a name for it as well: Authors, We Know Your Secret! 2010 Book Countdown. What do you think?! I love it! If you have a better idea, let me know!

Here is one of the few buttons I will create for you to post on your blog to help spread the word! And I'm still coming up with the whole MeMe, so please be patient! I am planning on starting this on October 1st, so bloggers, please do your part by spreading the word to other bloggers, or even authors if you'd like! I'd really appreciate it! So, here is the button (also posted on my sidebar):

So what do you think?! I kinda like it!
And bloggers?! Please, let me know if you'd like to participate in this meme by signing up below, or commenting to this post! I'd love to send out info to you all to keep you updated! And remember! Spread the word about this!

If you have no idea what I am talking about, please refer here for some details on this new Meme!

As for my WOW pick:

TITLE: Bleeding Violet
AUTHOR: Dia Reeves
PUBLISHER: Simon Pulse
RELEASE DATE: January 5, 2010

SUMMARY (provided by "Love can be a dangerous thing....
Hanna simply wants to be loved. With a head plagued by hallucinations, a medicine cabinet full of pills, and a closet stuffed with frilly, violet dresses, Hanna's tired of being the outcast, the weird girl, the freak. So she runs away to Portero, Texas in search of a new home.
But Portero is a stranger town than Hanna expects. As she tries to make a place for herself, she discovers dark secrets that would terrify any normal soul. Good thing for Hanna, she's far from normal. As this crazy girl meets an even crazier town, only two things are certain: Anything can happen and no one is safe. "

Awesome right?! Haha I know! It sounds very interesting, unique, and mysterious, AND a YA hit! I hope I could host the Author for my new meme to help promote this book, even though it probably will be big without the help of me. I also read that the majority of the buyers for this book, also bought Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick!!! (review coming soon)... I cannot wait for this! Expect a countdown for Bleeding Violet to be posted to my sidebar soon! What do you think?

MeMe Sign Up: Authors/Bloggers/Publishers

Sunday, September 20, 2009

New Meme for bloggers, authors, and publishers!!

I know what new meme I'm going to do, but please tell me if there is already something out there similar that has been created in the past! I'm not trying to steal your Wonderful ideas!

So since 2010 seems to be getting nearer I thought Id start a 2010 book countdown, since there has been a great deal of books every one is looking forward to next year... So... Why not do a countdown type thing that gives authors a chance to get their book even more publicity before it's due publishing date in 2010? Publishers, you can do your part as well by promoting your company by giving exclusives, special offers, Interviews and updates to keep bloggers on track with your upcoming releases!!
Bloggers? Have a book you want to share with the rest of the book community you think will be a hit? Then email me with the title, publisher, release date, summary, and maybe even a teaser or book trailer if possible! Maybe I could even come up with an interview we could do to share your thoughts and opinions on your pick!

The process? Hmmmm.. Everyday would be pretty hard to keep up with, along with the fact that I might not be able to get upcoming releases to fill in the next several months. Maybe, once I get started and see if any authors or publishers start asking me to promote them, then I could do this more often. So I may just post every other day or every 3 days until things get sorted out.

Buttons for this meme will be available for others to use for their sidebars to help spread the word to others who may be interested as well. I will post a poll asking what you think about this meme either below this post or on the sidebar where you can share your opinion!

Authors or publishers please dont hesitate to contact me at if you would be interested in being scheduled for a certain time. I will try and make it work! Also, please include some useful and interesting info on your book if you are offering for me to
promote your release.

Is this new meme making sence? And what should it be called?......

Monday, September 14, 2009

Friends Of The Library info!

Hey everyone! Several things: a review will be coming in very soon, so don't give up on me now, and my Max Promotion will be running until October 1st! I am sending out emails to some book bloggers to spread the news, so you are most likely to get one very soon! Also, expect several memes and a new one created by me, this week!

But the reason for this post is very important!
I have been informed through email by Jessica that there is an awesome book directory you can find online. Not only books are there but magazines, CDs, etc! I guess instead of it being explained by me, which can get confusing? Here, just read the email that was sent to me.

"All across the nation, many Friends of the Library organizations hold book sales that feature cheap books that were either donated or removed from circulation. Typically these sales sell books, CDs, magazines, and DvD's for rock bottom prices. A typical sale will sell most of their items for under 3 dollars.

Being charity organizations, these Friends of the Library organizations often have limited resources to advertise and promote their sales. As such, many people are never made aware of the excellent deals they are missing within their own communities. That's where comes ins. We are attempting to bridge the gap between Organizations looking to more effectively advertise their sale, and people looking to find more places to get good deals on books and media.

Friends of the Library organizations and other non-profit groups can freely advertise their sale on our site. Our site currently has 2500 active listings, and we have been adding over 100 everyday.

People looking to find sales can use our powerful search tools to find these sales. They can search by state, zip code, sale size, and date ranged. Furthermore, people can create an account and save sales to their calendar to help them better track the sales they want to go to. You can also sign up for notifications to be emailed when a new sale in your area is listed, or a reminder email a few days before the sales on your calendar so you don’t ever miss a sale you want to attend.

I believe book sales are a great way to find bargain books and media while at the same time supporting the local libraries and non profits we all know and love. It's a total win-win."

Very informant I'd say! So what do you think? Awesome and money saving right?! It definitely is a win-win! Thanks Jessica!

Thursday, September 10, 2009

Maximum Ride: Max Prize Pack Promotion! Must READ!

Yes, you read the title right! I am going to be hosting a HUGE Maximum Ride Prize Pack Promotion here at reviewabook123, all thanks to Dina Vathis! Thank you! And guess what?! There will be 2 winners that will each receive a prize pack with 8 books per pack!
The (2) Winners Will Both Recieve Each Of The Following:
Maximum Ride: Max (paperback)
Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment (paperback)
Maximum Ride: School’s Out – Forever (paperback)
Maximum Ride: Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports (paperback)
Maximum Ride: The Final Warning (paperback)
Maximum Ride: Manga (paperback)
The Dangerous Days of Daniel X (paperback)
Daniel X: Watch the Skies (hardcover)

First things first:

Read “MAX”
- the newest book in the bestselling Maximum Ride
On sale in paperback 09/01/09!
Still reeling from their most recent
adventure, Maximum Ride and the rest of the flock must head out to sea to
uncover the secret behind a brand new series of disasters—fish are dying off the
coast of Hawaii , hundreds of ships are being destroyed. As if that
weren’t enough, they’re also being tracked by a criminal mastermind with, oh
yeah, an army of mercenaries. Can the flock save themselves and the
ocean, and the world, from utter destruction?

**The Fine Print: IMPORTANT!**

The Maximum Ride: Max Promotion is open to legal US residents who are at least
13 years of age as of August 24, 2009. There will be two prizes for each
Promotion. Each prize consists of the following eight (8) books: Maximum
Ride: Max (paperback); Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment (paperback); Maximum
Ride: School’s Out – Forever (paperback); Maximum Ride: Saving the World and
Other Extreme Sports (paperback); Maximum Ride: The Final Warning (paperback);
Maximum Ride: Manga (paperback); The Dangerous Days of Daniel X (paperback); and
Daniel X: Watch the Skies (hardcover). The approximate retail value of
each prize is $72.00. Winners will be confirmed on or about September 28,
2009 by email. Prizes will only be shipped to confirmed winners with
addresses in the US . Prizes will be shipped within 30 days after a selected
entrant is confirmed as a winner.
MAXIMUM RIDE: MAX (Paperback Release)

Entrants who follow and post promotion on their sidebar and/or blog post will earn an extra entry! Please, fill out all of the required information below in the entry box, and you will be entered for your chance to win 1 of 2 prize packs!
Contest ends October 1st!

Wednesday, September 9, 2009

Waiting On Wednesday

This week, there are so many books that I am looking forward to, I just couldnt post one. And I guess it's alright, since I havent done a WOW post as often as I should...

Title: Perfect Mistake (Privlege #3)
Author: Kate Brian
Pub. Date: Oct. 27, 2009
Summary: "Kate Brian's Beautiful Disaster brings Ariana Osgood back into the life she is accustomed to, the only questions is, what will she do to hold onto it "

Why this one? Duh! Kate Brian of course! She is one of my most favortite authors ever, and Private/Privlege series has to be the top selling series! Awesome job Kate!

Title: Scandal (Private Series)

Author: Kate Brian

Pub. Date: March 9, 2010 (Make it come faster please!)

Summary: "Kate Brian's Private series gets even better when Reed returns from her horrific vacation. "

Why this one? Wow! Another book being published by Kate Brian! Though, I havent finished the series yet, I am glad that there is one more being added so it wont end as fast! (yes, it's that good of a series!) Maybe I could snag an ARC?

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

New Weekly Meme for Reviewabook! And Update!

It's been a while since I have posted up a popular meme, so I figure, why not come up with my own! My idea? Well... that... needs some more details and such to make it entertaining and worth reading and waiting for. But, what I was thinking was on every Tuesday, or every other Tuesday, I could post a live conversation with a generous author via email. I'm not so sure on details and such, but if any blogger out there that might have a creative idea, please email me!!! I need help! Haha!

Authors? What can your part be? Simply email me once I get things figured out, and we could go over the process together! I will definitely get you in for a date on any Tuesday, if that particular date is open. Also, don't forget, if you would like to be promoted in any way, whether it may be through a contest, Author In The Spotlight, book information, or exclusive information on your current or upcoming book. Its that simple! I'd love to help you out through promotions!

Other updates? My blog hasn't been updated as much, and I am sincerely sorry! I guess I couldn't blame it fully on schoolwork, but in some way, laziness? School has drained me. Oops... did I just blame it on school again? Bah, oh well.

I AM NOT FORGETTING ABOUT MY SITE! Just thought you should know! I plan on getting on a schedule (thanks to Laina for the brilliant inspiration) and getting in more reading time and blog time!

Also, if you haven't noticed, I have a new theme. What do you think? I love it! It's exactly what Ive been looking for! And I know, some people emailed me recommending 3 columns, but this one is the one that stuck out the most to me, and I hope you all enjoy it as much as I do!

Expect a WOW post tomorrow, and a book review coming soon, as well as several Author Interviews, and an awesome promotion coming soon as well!!!

Now, off to school work! I'll keep you updated on any other things I had forgotten to mention in this rather long post! Thanks, and be watching for that promotion post!!! Trust me, it's going to be totally worth it!
And thanks to those who had entered the furniture contest as well! That was awesome, wasn't it?!

Monday, August 31, 2009

The winner is....!!!!

Is anyone interested in knowing who the lucky winner of the furniture contest is? I thought so! First, there was only one winner, so if you didn't win, I'll be posting about a five winner book promotion that is going to be totally awesome, along with several other contest coming up later! Also, is anyone else out there that hasn't posted a review for a long time? I feel terrible for not updating as much ad I used to. I really want to apologize! I am so sorry! School has started last week and I already have quizzes coming up this week which I need to cram for! Another update: expect several author interviews coming up. Along with several reviews if I can get time to read and post.

Enough of my blabbing. Let's get to that lucky winner! Before I forget (haha) thanks to everyone who took the time to enter and spread the word! You did fantastic! And thanks to all of my new and old followers for following! It is greatly appreciated!

Now what was I going to say?...... Hmm. I guess that was it.....
*Smacks head and wonders if I'm losing my mind*. The winner! That's what I almost forgot to mention!

And the winner is.....*drumrolls fingers on desk for dramatic effect XD*

I will be emailing you shortly for your prize choice and mailing address! And don't forget, those of you that didn't win, I will be posting about a huge promotion for you to enter tomorrow! Stay tuned!

Sunday, August 30, 2009

Contest update: winners?

Hey everyone! I just wanted to let all of the contestants of the furniture contest know that the winners will be posted tomorrow evening! I know, it was supposed to be posted today, but I have to be honest. I was busy and it slipped my mind until now! I'm sorry! And thanks to all that entered and gave me their opinions on how to make my blog a better place. I will get a new layout and construct a new sidebar, but in the meantime, since school has started, I just haven't had as much time as I would like to do more reading and blog stuff! I'm sorry everyone! I am not forgetting about my blog! I promise!

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

The Birthing House Exclusive Info!

The Birthing House by Christopher Ransom is a new supernatural thirller published by St. Martins Press. Publisher's Weekly said: ""“A blend of supernatural horror and psychological thriller, Ransom’s impressive debut chronicles a couple’s descent into madness after they purchase a 140-year-old Victorian house in rural Wisconsin . . . this addictively readable ghost story will keep readers up all night, with the lights on, of course.” Kinda creepy huh? Still want more info? Then keep reading!

Here is the awesome trailer!

If you are interested in learning even more, then click here to go to the official website!

Do you have a ghost story you have experienced or have been told? Then share it with other people who would love to hear about it, including the author of The Birthing House by clicking here!

Interested in some cool photos?! Here is the link that will get you there!

Wanna get a sneak peak of the book? The first 2 chapters are available here! Yes! You read this right! Click here to read the first 2 chapters of The Birthing House by Christopher Ransom!

Sunday, August 23, 2009

In My Mailbox!

Here's what I got this week! IMM was started by the story siren!
The Borrowed: None
The Bought: None
The Recieved (For Review):
Rumer And Quix by Kathleen S. Wilson
Summary: ""Rumer, a petite apprentice reporter for the 31st century Global Quotidien with a flair for fashion, loves zipping across Nanjing with her loyal sidekick, Qix, in search of stories. But now, she’s furious with her boss for asking her to cover the exploits of Alfa, the planet’s wealthiest mega-conglomerate. Her parents died in an Alfa accident and she can’t understand how he can be so insensitive. She escapes into the indie networks and soon finds herself puzzling over an image of a bizarre nature sighting. Ever since the flora and fauna were replaced with Alfa’s Syncov™ replicas eons earlier, sightings like this have been routinely dismissed. When ethereal voices relay a message confirming Rumer’s hunch that things are terribly amiss, she slips away on a globe-trotting quest for answers. An epic battle is brewing between Dr. BigCo, the powerful Alfa CEO, and his nemesis, MoNa, the vulnerable matriarch of the cosmos. Will Rumer be able to turn things around before it’s too late?

Meridian by Amber Kizer
Summary: "Half-human, half-angel, Meridian Sozu has a dark responsibility.Sixteen-year-old Meridian has been surrounded by death ever since she can remember. As a child, insects, mice, and salamanders would burrow into her bedclothes and die. At her elementary school, she was blamed for a classmate’s tragic accident. And on her sixteenth birthday, a car crashes in front of her family home—and Meridian’s body explodes in pain. Before she can fully recover, Meridian is told that she’s a danger to her family and hustled off to her great-aunt’s house in Revelation, Colorado. It’s there that she learns that she is a Fenestra—the half-angel, half-human link between the living and the dead. But Meridian and her sworn protector and love, Tens, face great danger from the Aternocti, a band of dark forces who capture vulnerable souls on the brink of death and cause chaos. "

Max: Maximum Ride #5 by James Patterson
Summary: "The fifth entry in Patterson's all-ages Maximum Ride fantasy/thriller series finds the teenaged title character facing her greatest challenge yet. Max, leading her flock of virtually indestructible part-human/part-bird hybrids, must rescue her human mom, kidnapped by a criminal mastermind with an elaborate plan to wreak worldwide ecological catastrophe. But in order to rescue her, 14-year-old Max and the five younger members of her flock (genetically developed by an environmental group) must team up with the U.S. Navy to determine why millions of fish are dying off the coast of Hawaii. All this, and Max is falling in love, too. Patterson doesn't spend much time on character development, opting to propel his wild story with quick action scenes, plenty of dialogue and chapters seldom longer than three or four pages; unfortunately, though, life-and-death situations are often solved by implausible plot turns. Max narrates with a precocious, snarky voice, but makes it relatively easy to jump into her complicated tale midstream. Not surprisingly, the open-ended conclusion begs for a follow-up; it's also little wonder that a movie franchise is in the works. Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. "

(All Summaries From Amazon)
So that's what I got this week! I am super excited for all of the books I had received! All 3 of them look and sound great! There's my batch for the week! What did you get?!

Wednesday, August 19, 2009

Waiting On Wednesday!

Yay! I remembered it was Wednesday! Haha! So here is my WOW post for this week!

Title: Vintage Veronica

Author: Erica S. Pearl

Summary(From Amazon): "Veronica Walsh is 15, fashion-minded, fat, and friendless. Her summer job in the Consignment Corner section (Employees Only!) of a vintage clothing store is a dream come true. There Veronica can spend her days separating the one-of-a-kind gem garments from the Dollar-a-Pound duds, without having to deal with people. But when two outrageous yet charismatic salesgirls befriend her and urge her to spy on and follow the mysterious and awkward stock boy Veronica has nicknamed the Nail, Veronica’s summer takes a turn for the weird. Suddenly, what began as a prank turns into something else entirely. Which means Veronica may have to come out of hiding and follow something even riskier for the first time: her heart. "

Release Date: March 9, 2010

Why I'm excited?
Because it sounds like a really cute book that would turn out to be entertaining as well! The whole plot sounds scandalous in its own unique way, as well as the character Veronica. Overall, it sounds cute, fun, unique, and a coming out type of story. Now, let's discuss the cover! Haha! Simple, yet themed and cute, I absolutely adore it! The cover looks as cute as the story sounds! The colors and theme flows great together! What do you think?

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

Waiting On Wednesday

Sorry about my lack of W.O.W posts! Also, just a reminder that I have a contest going on right now, for a chance to win a book shelf of your choice, or a computer desk!

This weeks pick:
The Everafter by Amy Huntley
Release Date: September 29th, 2009
Summary: "Madison Stanton doesn’t know where she is or how she got there. But she does know this — she is dead. And alone in a vast, dark space. The only company Maddy has in this place are luminescent objects that turn out to be all the things she lost while she was alive. And soon she discovers that, with these artifacts, she can reexperience — and even change — moments from her life.Her first kiss.A trip to Disney World.Her sister’s wedding.A disastrous sleepover.In reliving these moments, Maddy learns illuminating and frightening truths about her life — and death. "
-From Amazon

-The Summary: I think the summary is what really drew me in. It seems like such a mysterious, and dark book that would have surprises and detail to keep you entertained.

-The Cover: The cover caught my attention, but not as much as the summary did. I guess, the cover did make me want to read the summary in the first place, and I do love the colors flowing through the cover.

-The Title: Awesome! Simple, yet mysterious and entertaining. It draws you in, making you wonder what the book is about. I love this chosen title! It works great with the summary!

So there you have it! The break down! Overall, I cannot wait to read more about this book! And better yet, the release day is coming up! Yay!

Sunday, August 2, 2009

Furniture Contest!

Are you in desperate need of a new book case, or even a computer desk? Then this is a contest for you!
First off, before I get into more detail, I want to thank Jonathan Papp from Office Furniture for giving me this wonderful option! Thank you!

I will be giving choices for the winner to choose from, so you have more of a variety to look at, than what I would choose for a prize.

First things first:
*Contestants must be from U.S to enter, sorry international readers!
*You must be or become a follower to enter.
*You must comment to this post leaving your name, email and/or blog link for 1 entry.

There will only be a max limit of 3 entries per person.
1-Comment on this post
2-Link/Blog about this contest, including contest details, direct link, and ending date (August 29th)
3- Email me, telling me what I could change about my blog to make it better, simpler, or more interesting. Also, tell me how you like my reviews, or posts in general. What are the positives, and negatives?

Here are the options!

~Book Shelves/Storage Shelves~

~Computer Desks~
Contest will end August 29th. I will email the winner, asking for their mailing address.
Now, let the contest begin!
Expect a review(s) this week, and a few other posts as well!

Sunday, July 26, 2009

Follower shout-out!

I'm sure other bloggers have done something like this, and I have felt guilty for not doing anything to appreciate all of the awesome followers and readers I have been getting! Many of you have been visiting my blog ever since my first post, and I want to thank you for that! Also, thank you to all of my followers for making my blog a better place! I love to open my blog page and seeing all of the people that find my blog interesting enough, even when I haven't posted in days or weeks. I want to say thank you to all of the visitors. Followers, and the people leaving positive comments, for making this blog happen! Thank you so much!

I also want to apologize for the major lack of reviews. No, I am definetly not deserting my blog, I love it too much to do that! I have been going through a major reading slump, but I think Im getting over it now! Please, be patient until the next review comes in!

Thursday, July 23, 2009

The winners of the 5 HP book giveaway announced!

Here are the 5 winners of the newly released paperback version of Harry Potter And The Deathly Hollows, including the 10th anniversary gold pin!

The winners were chosen by a randomizer!

1. Shooting Stars Mag (Lauren)
2. Robin_Titan
3. Mari (Perfectly Imperfect)
4. Becca Fitzpatrick
5. Diana_Dang

Please, email me and send me your addresses so I can get these prizes shipped to you!

Thanks to all who entered!

Tuesday, July 21, 2009

My game plan (sorta)

If you've been wondering where I have been lately, and why my blog hasn't been updated as much, I'm sorry for abandoning it!!! I have honestly never been so busy! Between practicing my driving, studying for the three quizes we take in drivers ed, friends coming back from vacation, and always feeling guilty while looking at that big stack of books just needing to be read (haha), I've hardly had time to enjoy my site, as well as other sites. My plans?

Read and review Praying For Snow, then post up an author interview for July.
Post up the five winners for the paperback HP books TONIGHT!!
Read and review Eyes Like Stars
And post an amazing giveaway where the winner gets to chose what they want (stay tuned for details)

So there you have it! Expect me to stick around!

Thursday, July 16, 2009

Reminder for contest

Hey everyone! I just wanted to remind you of my 5 book, HP giveaway, ending soon! You can click the link on my sidebar or search for it, and enter! Learn how to gain extra entries as well. I also want to apologize for the lack of reviews being posted! Thank goodness drivers ed will end this week! Then I can get back into my usual routine! Thanks to all of my followers and readers for being patient with me! I greatly appreciate it!

Saturday, July 11, 2009

In my mailbox

Heres my IMM post for the week!
I didnt get very many books, only 2, but I am very happy for getting them!
IMM was started by The Story Siren.

The Borrowed:

The Bought:
The Recieved:
Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
-Summary (From Amazon): "For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She's never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch came along.
With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment.
But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora's not sure who to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can't decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.
For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen - and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life. "
(ARC provided by the help of the author, and publishing company. Thanks!)
Release Date: October 13, 2009

Jumping Off Swings by Jo Knowles
-Summary (From Amazon): "Ellie remembers how the boys kissed her. Touched her. How theybegged for more. And when she gave it to them, she felt loved. For awhile anyway. So when Josh, an eager virgin with a troubled home life, leads her from a party to the backseat of his van, Ellie follows. But their "one-time thing" is far from perfect: Ellie gets pregnant. Josh reacts with shame and heartbreak, while their confidantes, Caleb and Corinne, deal with their own complex swirl of emotions. No matter what Ellie chooses, all four teenagers will be forced to grow up a little faster as a result. Told alternately from each character’s point of view, this deeply insightful novel explores the aftershocks of the biggest decision of one fragile girl’s life — and the realities of leaving innocence behind. "
(ARC provided by Publishing Company)
Release date: August 11, 2009

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

Busy, Busy, Busy...

Hey everyone! I'm sorry about the lack of posts this summer, but everything has been so hectic! My average book reading list for the past couple months have only been 2 books a month! Eek! My reasoning for less posting includes Drivers Ed, which is for 2 1/2 weeks, half the day, chores, and just tiredness.... Ahh, another reading slump :(

Anyways...Expect an Author In The Spotlight Post later this month, and maybe 2 reviews. Once I get through with Drivers Ed, I can guarantee you more reviews!

I'm sorry for the delay, I hope you understand my busy schedule!


Sunday, July 5, 2009

Review Planning

I know a lot of you have noticed a decrease in reviews being posted, but everything has been so hectic this summer so far, that I hardly have time to even look at a book (OK, maybe I take tons of glances at my bookshelf, but you get the point). So, for this week and/or possibly next week, here are some titles I plan on finishing and reviewing for the next 2 weeks.
  • The Physick Book Of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe- a book I desperately need to finish as well...
  • Peace, Love, And Baby Ducks by Lauren Myracle
  • Praying For Snow-a review book I need to finish in order to interview the author for AITS, and it looks and sounds awesome as well!
  • Once Dead, Twice Shy by Kim Harrison
  • I also need to finish How To Buy A Love Of Reading........

Hopefully I get these read in the next 2 weeks... Wish me luck!

Thursday, July 2, 2009

In My Mailbox

Here's what I got this week!
-IMM was started by The Story Siren!
The Bought
The Borrowed
The Recieved (for review)
-Eyes Like Stars

All her world’s a stage.
Bertie Shakespeare Smith is not an actress, yet she lives in a theater.
She’s not an orphan, but she has no parents.
She knows every part, but she has no lines of her own.
That is, until now.
Enter Stage Right
NATE. Dashing pirate. Will do anything to protect Bertie.
COBWEB, MOTH, MUSTARD SEED, and PEASEBLOSSOM. Four tiny and incredibly annoying fairies. BERTIE’S sidekicks.
ARIEL. Seductive air spirit and Bertie’s weakness. The symbol of impending doom.
BERTIE. Our heroine.
Welcome to the Théâtre Illuminata, where the actors of every play ever written can be found behind the curtain. They were born to play their parts, and are bound to the Théâtre by The Book—an ancient and magical tome of scripts. Bertie is not one of them, but they are her family—and she is about to lose them all and the only home she has ever known.
Lisa Mantchev has written a debut novel that is dramatic, romantic, and witty, with an irresistible and irreverent cast of characters who are sure to enchant the audience.
Open Curtain

(Summary Provided By Amazon)
**Arc Provided by InGroup**
Eyes Like Stars will be released July 7th

Ok, I only recieved 1 book this week, but many people are anxious to get this one, so I can't wait to read it because of the popularity it has scored over the past few months...
I also have a question about this one...Is it going to be in a series?
What did you guys get?

Wednesday, July 1, 2009


In celebration of the new, anticipated movie, Harry Potter And The Half-Blood Prince, and the upcoming release of the paperback version of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows, I will be giving away five copies of the new paperback version book, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows, which is released on July 7th!!!

ALSO: Included with each book, there will be a celebrating 10 years, gold collectors Harry Potter pin!!

The Rules?!
-U.S Only
-No P.O boxes
-5 winners only.

I'm really sorry if these rules restrict you from being able to enter, I hope you are able to win this or get this elsewhere!

Entering, and additional entry options:
1 entry: Comment to this post, including your name, email, and/or website
2 entries: Put this contest on your sidebar/write a post with the link, prize, and ending date.
3 entries: Follow if you don't, or if you already are a follower, let me know

"Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince will hit theaters this summer – the 6th film in the series. Why not catch the finale NOW by reading the page turning final installment of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – released in paperback July 7th. It all comes down to this - a final face off between good and evil. You plan to pull out all the stops, but every time you solve one mystery, three more evolve. "
The ending date will be July 19Th, so hurry and enter! This is definitely a contest I would enter in because of the Collectors Pin, and the newly released paperback version of the book, which comes out July 7th (if I haven't mentioned that already) !!!
Thank you so much for the 5 donated copies, and pins, Dina!
If you are interested in learning more about the Harry Potter series, click here for additional information!

Sunday, June 28, 2009

In My Mailbox

Hey! Sorry about not posting my IMM post last Sunday, so I am just including it in with this one!
IMM was started by The Story Siren!

The Received (for Review):

  • Praying For Snow by Jennifer Reynolds
  • Three Roses For Pearl by Julia Johnson
  • The Texicans by Nina Vida

    The Borrowed:
  • Madapple by Christina Meldrum
  • Wherever Nina Lies by Lynn Weingarten
  • Peace, Love, And Baby Ducks by Lauren Myracle

    The Bought:
  • Haters by Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez
  • Swoon by Nina Malkin
  • The Devouring by Simon Holt
  • Walk of the Spirits by Richie Tankersley Cusik

    I had also received 2 awesome promo items in the mail. A GhostGirl devotional candle(saweet!), which looks awesome!! And I had also received a 10Th anniversary, Harry Potter and the Sorceress Stone, golden pin! I absolutely adore it, and there will be an upcoming contest, where 5 winners could get one!!!! (so stay tuned!)


    What did you guys get???

Thursday, June 25, 2009

What do you think of...

Has any book blogger out there read How To Buy A Love Of Reading? I am reading it, and well....I don't really know what to think of it. I find the writing style very complex, and all of your attention has to be focused on the book while reading. I just don't know about it. I think the whole story line so far is very unique and good, it's just, been kind of hard to get through. What do you think?

Saturday, June 20, 2009

Contest Winner, and Award!

Thanks so much for being patient about posting the winner for How To Buy A Love Of Reading! I was really busy this afternoon, so I couldn't get to it. Also, expect IMM to be posted up tomorrow as well.

So, I'm sure you are pretty anxious to see who the winner is for How To Buy A Love Of Reading, so here is the winner!!

Congratulations: Suzane from!

I am going to be emailing you soon, so please get back to me!

Thanks to everyone who has entered, I really appreciate it!


And as for the award, thank you so much Cassandra, for giving me this award!

Ok, so I wasn't sure what to post about this, so I just copied the paragraph from Cassandra.

"This blog invests and believes in the Proximity - nearness in space, time and relationships. These blogs are exceedingly charming. These kind bloggers aim to find and be friends. They are not interested in prizes or self-aggrandizement! Our hope is that when the ribbons of these prizes are cut, even more friendships are propagated. Please give more attention to these writers! Deliver this award to eight bloggers who must choose eight more and include this clever-written text into the body of their award."

1. Addicted to books 1993
2. The Story Siren
3. The Page Flipper
4. Another Page Is Used
I'm sorry, but I can only post four because I need to get off soon! I hope you enjoy your awards!

Friday, June 19, 2009

Reminder For Contest!

Just a reminder, that tomorrow at 6:00pm central time, will be the last day to enter my contest for How To Buy A Love Of Reading.

If you haven't entered, click the My Contest tab below the header! Thanks to everyone that has entered, and will enter soon!

Total Look Alikes!

As I was talking to my friend Laina, she sent me two book pictures, and I was shocked to see how identical they look. Literally.

Here they are:

Kind of creepy, huh?
At first I thought they were in a series, but noticed the 2 different authors, Bree Despain, and Meg Cabot.
Every little detail in both pictures is pretty much the same. The material whisping off at the end, and the same colored toe nail polish.
What do you think?
-look alike idea inspired by Alea at Pop Culture Junkie.

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

Review: Th1rteen R3asons Why

TITLE: Thirteen Reasons Why
AUTHOR: Jay Asher

What would you do if one of your classmates died?
What would you do, if you could have saved them?
Most of all, what would you do, if you were part of their suicide?
And...What would you do if you received audio tapes that tell the story of Hannah, and the 13 reasons why she committed suicide?

The package arrived at Clays house after school. But when he opened it, surprised to see tapes, labeled with numbers, and rules on what to do during each tape, each one containing a sad story, Clay begins to hear Hannah's story, before she ever popped a bottle of pills.
And sadly? He is one of the 13 exclusive people that will have their lives changed forever, in only one night.
Come along on Clays journey around town, as he visually watches the snowball effect that ruined Hannah's life, how it all started, and how it all desperately ended. Though, the signs were vague in the moment, before Hannah ever made the fatal choice, they now become clearer as he looks back when the signs were blasting in front of his, and his classmates, eyes. The way she cut off most of her long hair, and gave away her things, both being signs of future suicide, he should have known. But she wouldn't let anyone connect with her, because she lost her trust to anyone that tried to help. How? Her first kiss....Ruined and changed her reputation. The way people viewed her physically? Now they just want a piece of her for themselves. Her home? No longer a safe haven.
Listen to the story of a girl being used, lied to, and becoming ripped to pieces as she tries to save herself. And her life.
You may be shocked to learn how one of Clay's friends played a major role in her final days, and the fact that she could have changed one thing to lessen the chances of her death, as well as another classmates death.
Will Clay listen to all of the tapes? Or will he decide not to listen to them, which could turn these cassette's into a public show?

Thirteen Reasons Why is a book that will bring you to tears, but will keep you coming back for more.
I loved how the story began with him sending out the package to the next "victim", even though you had no idea what it had to do with in the story, it made you wonder what was next.
As I got farther into the novel, it became more and more crazier, I can't even think of a better word to explain it. My feelings towards the book as it got farther into the plot, became more deeper, and sentimental.
For one thing, I thought Hannah was crazy at the beginning, but the snow ball effect kept getting worse and worse further into the plot, and sometimes I thought she did things on purpose to give her an excuse to kill herself.
And as for Clay Jensen, one of the causes of her suicide, and the main character of the story, my heart went out to him. I felt every single one of his emotions as he listened to a voice he will never hear again, explain everything from a tape player. If I were him, I probably never would've been able to handle listening to all 13 stories. I couldn't even handle seeing an empty desk, and know, someone could have changed the direction Hannah was going in, if they caught the signs. One thing, I feel strongly about, is Hannah, being somewhat of a selfish person? I think she took the quick way out of life, and couldn't handle the stress we all go through sometimes. Maybe some of it was really bad, but she could have talked to someone about it, instead of kept it inside. But, then again, I wasn't the one listening to all the false rumors, or being lied, cheated, and used.
I hated how Clay blamed himself for not saving Hannah. Her mind was made up. I don't think she tried hard enough to get the help she needed, or change the way she was going. But the more her story continued, the more desperate I felt to save her myself. And I think that is what made this whole story unique. Everything she said, and Clay did, made me depressed while reading it, and I would hate to be the 13 people to receive the tapes.
Thirteen Reasons Why was a beautiful, sad story that made me cry, and made my throat burn with sadness. Everything was connected together, in a sick twisted way. Everyone had a reason to be one of the causes, even if it was only a short add on to the snow ball effect. Each person, including Hannah, played a major role in her final decision.
I creepy sense came over me, and I couldn't control my feelings anymore. I never would have thought such a story like this existed, and I hate the fact, but love it at the same time, that I even read this book. I will never forget this story.

Sunday, June 14, 2009

Review: Ghostgirl

TITLE: Ghostgirl
AUTHOR: Tonya Hurley

Ever Feel Invisible?
Ever feel like you are a waste of space, another person to suck up the air?

Meet Charlotte Usher, because chances are you probably haven't, even if you went to school with her the past years. A positive start makes a positive year right? A new wardrobe, act, and self esteem, Charlotte is ready to be a part of Petula's popular status. To be like her. And well, to basically get her boyfriend as well. Damen. The hottest guy to ever walk the halls of Hawthorne High.
But thanks to a gummy bear, and Damen, Charlotte meets her end. Now she will be invisible for good. Not to the other dead students though. Sadly, after getting her toe ring that explains her death, and meeting a girl named Piccolo Pam, she is now a part of Dead Ed. But all the students in dead ed have their stories on how they made it here. Charlotte just doesn't want hers to end. Sadly, she can't get the living kids that share the school with her to notice her, once again.
That is what Dead Ed is for, though. Explaining to them they are in this world for a purpose, and exploring the things they can and can't do.
And just as she had one enemy, Petula, in the living world, she now has an enemy in the dead world. Prue.

As fast as Charlotte arrived in this different world, it's soon going to come crashing down in attempt to be part of the living again. To be part of it though, you have to overtake someone who is willing to give up their body. And that's when Petula's gothic sister, Scarlet, comes in. The only living person to be able to see Charlotte, Scarlet understands the importance of Charlotte's plans, and that is to keep Damen from failing his classes, so he still can go to the dance. And possibly go with Charlotte as Scarlet.
Putting time into getting her noticed in the real world, is taking away from what is more important now. Her only home, as well as all the other Dead Ed kids. Hawthorne Manner, is about ready to be taken from them for good. The students must find a way to keep it as their place, without haunting it, or having it demolished. And everyone needs to pull their weight in order for it to happen...Including Charlotte.

What will it take for Charlotte to realize death is her destiny? Will Hawthorne Manner, once again, become theirs? And what is really up with Prue, the mean dead girl who can never give Charlotte a chance? Most of all, will someone realize what is going on between Charlotte and Scarlet, and ruin it all for them both?
The One will have to rise above the others, and realize once and for all, this is the destiny. Will it be too late for her to realize it though?

Where to begin..... Tonya Hurley twisted a unique plot along with a heartfelt story line, almost too perfectly together. It was a fun, yet a sad read, and I felt as desperate as Charlotte while reading Ghostgirl. I never believed a story could be as well mixed as Ghostgirl, but after reading the book, it proved me wrong.

The idea for this story was amazing! I felt that the plot was fast moving, but not fast enough to make me confused. The whole theme to the story, was unique by its self. Everything tied in perfectly together, and it couldn't have been written any better. I felt sorry for Charlotte, but I also understood why Prue was so harsh on her during the end. She wasn't letting go, even if it was hard. At the climax though, it was all worth it. Everyone was shown who they really were without the maggots crawling on them, or the translucent skin decaying off of their frail bones.

One thing though, bothered me. I guess it was the fact that the story didn't include not one little thing about the parents of the dead kids. Maybe it would've been a little too much being added in with the story and all, but it did keep me thinking and wondering.

One more unique thing, I forgot to mention, was the beginning of each chapter. There were short messages telling you about things Charlotte should have kept in mind, and what we should think about on a daily basis. A few include: "If it's meant to be, then it will be" or "Time will tell all things" and so on. Another thing added in each chapter are quotes that have some role within the story. I found several that I absolutely love: "All that we see or seem, Is but a dream within a dream" by Edgar Allan Poe, along with: "And there was a beautiful view, But nobody could see. 'Cause everybody on the island, Was saying: Look at me! Look at me." by Laurie Anderson. I believe those to be 2 of the most powerful quotes included in this book. Overall, the uniqueness, plot theme, and overall fun mixed with the story, were definitely amazing.

Friday, June 12, 2009

In My Mailbox: HUGE POST!

Ok, so maybe it's not that huge, but it's a pretty big one to me! This was started by The Story Siren!

The Borrowed: None

The Recieved/For Review: None
The Bought:

...before I start this list, I just want to make things clear. All the paperback books I bought were only $1.49, and the 2 hardcovers I got were $3.00. Guess where I got them? .....At a garden store. I know! How odd.... How could you not take such an offer? And believe me...There were thousands of books just laying on tables, piled high.
So, here it is:

Are You Alone On Purpose? by Nancy Werlin

"Alison Shandling and Harry Roth would seem
to have nothing in common. "Queen Nerd" Alison sticks with one close friend and
stays out of trouble; her parents have enough worries dealing with her autistic
twin, Adam. Harry, a bully, runs with the popular crowd and delights in
embarrassing his widowed father, a not terribly intelligent rabbi. But a bitter
set of coincidences draws Alison to Harry: her mother, infuriated by the rabbi's
insensitivity to Adam, tells the rabbi that she wishes his son were handicapped
too. When Harry is paralyzed in a diving accident, the rabbi sees it as divine
punishment and tries to atone by showering Adam with attention. First-novelist
Werlin compensates for the unlikely plot and the even less likely romance that
develops between Harry and Alison by investing her characters with rich, strong
personalities. She alternates between Alison's and Harry's perspectives to round
out the reader's understanding of both families."

What Happened To Lani Garver by Carol Plum-Ucci

"The folks on Hackett Island, near
Philadelphia, are not too friendly to newcomers. Anyone the slightest bit
different is eyed with suspicion, as Claire found out when she missed a year of
junior high due to leukemia. Now she works hard at fitting in, following
treacherous but popular Macy's lead, hiding her passion for the guitar, and
never talking about her fear that her illness will return. Or her nightmares. Or
her eating disorder. The boys of Hackett Island's "in" crowd are members of the
"fish frat"--hunky sons of the local fishermen--and their horseplay even among
themselves is brutal and edge-of-danger.
And then Lani Garver shows up at
school, a tall, thin, strangely androgynous person. "No. Not a girl. Sorry," he
says pleasantly when Macy questions him about his gender with vicious curiosity.
But Claire, much to Macy's disgust, is drawn to Lani, and his wisdom and
kindness begins to heal her. He takes her to Philadelphia to meet his artistic
friends, talks sense to her about her eating disorder and her blind devotion to
Macy, finds her a therapist. Who is this Lani Garver? He resists "boxes" like
"gay." Even his age is a mystery to Claire. Strangest of all, could he be a
"floating angel," as his friends at the hospital seem to believe? Meanwhile, the
fish frat are closing in for the kill, and when their harassment turns lethal,
Lani shows a terrible side of himself Claire has never seen."

The Last Universe by William Sleator (One of my favorite

"Teenagers Susan and Gary live
in the house that has belonged to the family for generations. Now Gary has
contracted a disease that has him confined to a wheelchair and traveling to the
hospital regularly for transfusions. Susan is unwillingly spending her summer
vacation pushing her brother through the garden and woods of their peculiar
estate. Gary has been reading about quantum physics, a subject in which
Great-Uncle Arthur won an international prize many years earlier. He is also the
one largely responsible for the creation of the garden and just possibly the
maze that no one has ever seen except from one window in the house. Gary is
convinced that his illness has somehow triggered a quantum event that is
responsible for the bizarre changes he and his sister are finding each day. He
also seems to be getting better after each visit to the garden and so Susan
finds herself torn between her fear of it and her fear for her brother's life.
Sleator is a master of suspenseful science fiction and that mastery is evident
here. The action is slow at first, but as the garden begins to change, the pace
picks up correspondingly. Ultimately Susan must brave the maze on her own when
Gary is rushed to the hospital. The twist at the end is entirely logical (if
anything about quantum can be) and entirely shocking."

I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have To Kill You by Ally

"Cammie Morgan, 15, is a student at
Gallagher Academy, a top-secret boarding school for girls who are
spies-in-training. She studies covert operations, culture and assimilation, and
advanced encryption, and has learned to speak 14 languages. Her troubles begin
when she falls for Josh, a local boy who has no clue about her real identity.
Keeping her training secret forces her to lie to her new love, which leads to
comic complications. Subplots include Cammie's relationship with her mother–the
headmistress at Gallagher–and her grief over the loss of her father, who died
while on a spying assignment. The teen's double life leads to some amusing
one-liners, and the invented history of the Gallagher Girls is also
entertaining, but the story is short on suspense. The stakes never seem very
high since there are no real villains, and the cutesy dialogue quickly becomes

Prom by Laurie Halse Anderson

"Ashley has enough problems in her life
already, starting with the complexities of her crowded but loving working class
family -- her extremely pregnant mother and her three exuberant and prom-crazy
aunts, and her cab-driving father and three younger brothers, who think nothing
of happily trashing the kitchen in a game of hot dog baseball. Then there’s Mr.
Gilroy, the evil vice principal of discipline, who has Ashley on endless
detention, her awful job at EZ-CHEEZ-E, where she has trouble seeing the
customers through the eyeholes of her rat costume, and her good-looking but
lowlife boyfriend TJ, who wants her to join him in a future as depressing as the
dank one-room apartment he has so proudly rented for them. Not to speak of Nat’s
loony grandmother, who wears her red bathing cap even when she’s not doing the
backstroke in a wading pool, babbles at Ashley in Russian, and spits on the
floor to show her disapproval.
But in the end it’s grandma with her skill at
baking (pastries to bribe the custodians) and sewing (a magical prom dress) who
saves both the prom and Ashley’s belief in herself and her future in this
delightful and heartfelt novel."

The Red Queen's Daughter by Jacqueline Kolosov

"Orphaned as a young girl because
of the imprudent marriage of her mother, Queen Katherine Parr, Mary Seymour vows
never to fall in love-and under no circumstances will she marry. Lady Strange,
her mysterious guardian, offers the young woman an extraordinary alternative to
marriage: Mary is to become a white magician who will join Queen Elizabeth's
court and ensure the success of the Virgin Queen's reign. Accompanied by her
magical hound, Perseus, Mary sets out to learn the properties of different
stones and the art and precision of natural spells. Soon after her sixteenth
birthday, she joins Elizabeth's court as a lady-in-waiting. Upon her arrival,
Mary realizes that Elizabeth's court is rife with men and women who are vying
for power. The most dangerous of all is Edmund Seymour, Mary's disturbingly
handsome cousin. From the moment she meets Edmund, Mary has to fight her growing
attraction, especially once she discovers that he is a black magician, the dark
mirror of her own self. But, despite the threat Edmund poses to Mary, he seems
to be the only one who truly understands her. When Edmund becomes involved in a
plot against the Queen, Mary finds her beliefs tested in ways she never could
have imagined. "

Dramarama by E. Lockhart

"She was just big-boned, big-nose Sarah
living in Brenton, Ohio, where, as she puts it, "committing suicide would be
redundant." Then she meets Demi, who is trying hard to be
invisible--surprisingly easy considering he's black and gay. Alone they are,
well . . . alone, but brought together by their love of musical theater, they
light up. All this might sound like a stereotypical take on gay men and the
women who love them, and there is some of that, but there's also so much more.
The renamed Sayde and Demi make their way to a summer theater camp, and that's
where things change. Encouraged to become part of the ensemble, Sayde finds she
is too opinionated to do that, even as it turns out that she is less talented
than she believed. At the same time, Demi is discovering that he's a star who
can hang out with actual boyfriends rather than Sayde. "