Monday, December 29, 2008

The Rule Of Won

TITLE: The Rule Of Won
AUTHOR: Stefan Petrucha
OVERALL RATING: 5/5


My Review:
Caleb Dunne is a major slacker. Everything slides past him un-noticably. He lives with his mom and grandpa, barely making ends-meet, Caleb, barely making it out of high-school. He is known as the one that destroyed the gym when it was in the middle of being rebuilt. After being spotted by Al-den, his "reputation", not only being known as a major slacker, but a disgrace to the school. Destroying the hopes of a new gym.

But he knows he did nothing. He ran because he didn't want to be blamed.
Then Vicky invites him to join The Rule Of One club. A club that meets and discuss what they want or "Crave" in life, and how to get it just by chanting, and believing without having to work for it. Of course, you had to read The Rule of Won to fully understand the club, and that is exactly what Caleb does. In hope that after wishing people would begin to talk to him, and not look at him as a kid that ruined the school's gym, he joins. Not expecting the worse.

At first it sounds too good. How could you just wish for something, and truly believe getting it without working for it is possible? Well, half of the school does. Even teachers wear the club pin.

Ethan is the leader of the club. Teaching the growing club how to iManifest what you want. And then "poof," you'll get it. But something is weird about Ethan. The way he smiles about all of the things they wish for. Evil. Greedily. And even the club is getting a little weird. Some, saying they will bring weapons to school for protection, Cravers forcing non-cravers to chant with them.
but everything they wish for comes true. The money for the school to rebuild the gym, the basket ball game, and everyone getting A's on their math finals. But it comes with a price.

Caleb knows that it was all coincidence when the opposite team loses to a flu epidemic, and SNH wins the game, and when the grant for SNH's money was talked about before Ethan and The Crave wished and chanted for it. But what happened when everyone got A's on their math tests? The math teacher was in a wreck, barely making it. The test was cancelled. Everyone had to retake an easier test by an easier teacher, one that everyone could ace.
After all, you want whatever happens to you deep inside. Even if it is killing yourself. And that is what almost happens to Erica, one of Caleb's best friends. She feels guilty about wishing for an A on the final, not knowing that it would come with a price. She tries to commit suicide. After all, she did want that deep inside, didn't she?
When befriending Moore (the one who said he destroyed the gym), and the rest of the newspaper staff, they begin to know something is weird about this Ethan and his Cravers. But what?

Does the Newspaper crew know something, the Cravers dont? And what's up with those amazing drawing Ethan's sister draws for the crave? Did the math teacher really just Get into a weck, or did someone make it happen to form the Crave into something realistic?


It will all end in one battle, between the cravers, and the non-believers. The school students will turn against each other, whether it involves blood or not. The Cravers will Rule the school.

My Thoughts:

I absolutely loved this book. It was far different than anything I have ever read. The plot kept me going, surprises on every page. The whole line of the story was extraordinary, and was one adventure I will never forget. It seemed so realistic, and I felt as if I were there. One thing I didn't care for though, was the ending. I could predict some of it, but there were surprises included as well. I liked the beginning, how it started with Alyssa's, Ethan's sister, point of view on her brother's insanity. She goes against him the whole time he is with The Rule of Won, and I really liked her courage for doing so. This story was simple, and fun to read. It was an easy flowing plot that kept the reader turning page after page, waiting to see what would happen next. I highly recommend this book. It was packed with mystery, adventure, secrets, and humor.
TAGS: Revolt, mystery, clubs, humor, young adult, slacker, teen, high-school, secrets, fun, 5, reccomend.

Saturday, December 27, 2008

Trash Talk review







First off, I want to thank the amazing authors of this helpful book, Dave and Lillian Brummet, for letting me review this for them. Thanks!

This book is more of a guide to helping you save money, while helping the economy by recycling, and reusing things that usually end up in the trash. There were many interesting, and helpful facts that made me realize there is more litter destroying this earth than I thought. I also learned how to reuse everday things, for different jobs. Here are a few fascinating facts I learned from Trash Talk:
  • A glass bottle thrown away yesterday littering an area could still be littering the landscape in year 3000.
  • You can even recycle bars of soap! Gather all of the unuseful pieces of soap into a recycling jar. When you have enough to put to use, blend them slowly in a blender. Add small amounts of water until it consists of a pudding-like mixture. Once it dries you can reuse it as soap to wash hands, cars, or anything else that needs washing!

  • Tires are a biggy. A fact from the book tells the reader that approximatly 3.8 million tires were generated in 1995. 17.5% were recycled.


  • Of all the worlds water, 97% is salt water, 2% is trapped in polar ice and underground springs, and 1% is actually available for human use (drinking and such)


  • On average, a north american sink uses 8 gallons of water a day.


  • 247,000 acres of forest are used just for newspapers.
Now some ideas for reusing everyday things:
  • You can scare away birds when you have a fruit tree beginning to grow by stinging unwanted CD's from the tree. The reflected light scares them without harming them.

  • You can reuse unwanted caps or corks for missing game-board pieces.
  • You can reuse umbrellas by taking the fabric off the top and hang it up to dry soaked/wet clothes.
  • You can reuse birthday/greeting/ cards by taking off the front that is not written on and use it as a post-card.
  • You can help the earth and your money budget by planting a tree! When planting a tree by your house, the shade cools your house by 3-7 degrees, saving you money by less air conditioning money.
  • By recycling, you can keep the earth and land healthy, and your tourism status. Attract tourists by keeping your earth clean, and make money too.
  • Egg shells can be added to a compost bin for healthy soil.

Overall, I did enjoy this book. It taught me a lot of interesting facts and ideas about the environment and helping it. There was enough of everything to keep the reader interested, and not make them bord with a book like this. I loved it!




contest winner for Fun-Read-Friday!


Congrats to Yan for winning this weeks Fun-Read-Friday! Click here to visit her amazing book blog. Here is a little bit about Yan:
Yan owns the blog called booksbytherecover.blogspot.com, and it is used for book reviews, author interviews, and random questions. Her most recent book review is Beautiful Americans. Yan advirtise's contests that other people {bloggers} are hosting.

She currently has 14 followers and would love it if you would follow if you already arent!! So follow!

With a simple blog, it is easy to find what you want without having to look everywhere for it. I absolutly love everything she has done to keep it simple, and different. Great job Yan!!!!
Click here to visit her blog!

Friday, December 26, 2008

Where has the time gone?! Fun-Read-Friday!




Hey everyone! I am so sorry! I totally forgot it was Friday! =(
But I'm still going to do the contest!!!!!
Here is the picture of a book to guess!!




~ THIS HAS CHANGED! THIS IS NOT THE CHOICE! NEW ONE IS BELOW

Email me at dogsrule.1@hotmail.com if you have the answer, or you can just post it in the comment box to this post. Thanks, and GoodLuck!!!


NEW ONE:

I Love Your Blog Award!!!!!!!!


Hey everyone! I want to thank Laina and Ashley for giving me the I Love Your Blog Award! Click here to visit Laina's blog, and click here to visit Ashley's blog!!!!!!!

Ok, so here are the awards I am going to give away!

1)Lexi
2)Mikayla
3)The Story Siren
4)ReviewerX
5)The Page Flipper

NOW WAIT! Before you "officially" get this amazing reward, you need to do the same! Here are the rules!

1. Put the logo *look up!* and rules on your blog.
2. Link the person who nominated you.
3. List your seven favorite blogs.
4. Tell them they’ve been nominated!

Monday, December 22, 2008

Author Interview! Dave and Lillian Brummet, authors of Trash Talk, and Towards Understanding

Hello everyone! I hope you are enjoying your week! I have decided to put up a surprise author interview. I am currently reviewing Trash Talk, Dave and Lillian's guide to help you save the environment, while saving money. I hope you enjoy this interview as much as I did!

Q: When Writing Trash Talk, how long did it take you to come up with all of that useful information about saving the environment while saving money?

Answer: Well, the concept began 1998 during a discussion with one of the clients of a business I was running then serving the upper middle class. She was ashamed to be seen taking in returnable items (i.e. soda and alcohol containers) because her friends would see her as a “scrooge”. The same thing with getting second hand children’s Halloween costumes – she just couldn’t be seen doing that either. She could see the sense in it, but because her family could afford more she just couldn’t see herself doing these kinds of conscious living activities. But then when the recycling blue box pick up service started in her neighborhood she just had to have that box out there so her neighbors could see she was participating. It was then that I realized that society needed to be shown that waste management was not always a matter of money, it is certainly not about false pride; its about leaving a lasting legacy and living a conscious lifestyle. So when a course I was taking on writing had an assignment on nonfiction articles the Trash Talk articles were born. That column ran for nearly 8 years and was published internationally. Dave helped at every turn in the journey, he was my counselor and supporter, but also my editor and proofreader. Eventually we decided a book was in order and we compiled all of the articles, along with more than 140 resources and a lot of additional information into the book Trash Talk. So all of the information took about 10 years to get to the stage we see in the book now.

Q: Where did you find all of the sources for your research?

Answer: We were both raised by very conscious living parents; their every day activities involved reuse – seeing value in something that would normally be looked at as useless. With that kind of background, it was easy for us to continue the lifestyle when Dave and I began our life as a couple. Over the years we have been members of a variety of organizations such as the Canadian Wildlife Federation, Granby Wilderness Society, Seeds of Diversity, the Recycling Counsel of BC and Zero Waste San Diego. These organizations, among dozens of others, proved to be invaluable along the way. The Internet is the key to any writer’s career; anything you want to know is there.

Q: Have you ever written any YA or adult fiction before? If not, will you?

Answer: I have several short fiction stories in the works now, but no – neither of us have written fiction as part of our career just yet. Dave has amazing talent with fiction and has several fantastic projects he’s been working on – but time is always a factor for us so these projects are often set aside for months on end. Non-fiction is the most lucrative market for most freelance writers and it is how we began our career, which lead into 3 published books and hosting two radio programs… who knows where we’ll go from here? J

Q: Was it hard to have 2 people writing the same book?

Answer: Not at all. I know a lot of folks might cringe at the idea of working with their spouse, but balance is really the key. Understanding each other’s strengths and knowing when to use them will keep the relationship going. For instance, the research and information gathering, the outline, first and second manuscript drafts are often my responsibility. Dave comes in and works magic with the words, using humor and reaching the audience in a way that it seems we are simply having a cup of coffee and a nice discussion with them – rather than telling them how to do something. His editing, proofreading and rewriting skills are essential to every piece that leaves the office. Dave is a talented musician and is also quite gifted with graphics and photographs – so he handles the CD or book cover designs, various ads, images that accompany our articles and maintains our main website as well (http://www.brummet.ca/). I do most of the marketing – handling the contacts, keeping track of who needs to be followed up on and setting aside all our records in an orderly way so that Dave can prepare our books for the accountant. I handle the blog, newsletter, myspace site as well as the networking, social networking, and hosting activities for our 2 radio shows. So you see, we work well together because we know how to divvy up the chores and get things done without stepping on each other.

Q: How much did you write a day in general?

Answer: An excellent question. How long I spend writing varies. For the creation of a book like Trash Talk I was writing, editing, rewriting or researching for the book 6-10 hours a day, 6 days per week for almost a year. Once the manuscript was done, there was very little writing for that project except for the query letters, press releases and other items that come about with the marketing end of things.

Q: What are some other things you do to save money, and the environment that you didn't include in Trash Talk?

Answer: Certainly – the book was really only the beginning. In fact the Trash Talk column continued 3 years after the book was published and we could still be writing it today, if we hadn’t decided to move on to other writing activities. With that in mind I suppose one could say there is enough material for a sequel to the book. J For our everyday life – with every project, we look at how we can reuse something rather than purchasing a new product. For instance we gleaned used wood to create more than 1/2 the fencing around our property. The scraps from that project were used to build the raised flowerbeds that now surround our cement pad patio area. We upgraded our car by leasing the safest and most environmental car available that fit our budget. We upgraded our bikes so that we can continue to use them rather then the car whenever the weather allows. For the holiday gift giving season this year we created trays of mixed cookies, cakes and balls; meals of lasagna, stew or enchiladas; and home made ornaments. To present these gifts, we placed them in reusable containers and homemade reusable gift boxes and gift bags.

Q: When you were younger, did you learn basic steps to saving the environment?

Answer: Well sort of. Neither of our parents are environmentalists and both of our parents are just now getting on the recycling systems in the cities where they reside. However we just sort of felt that living that way was right for us and the more we learned to be more environmental, the more we felt at ease in this life. Being gardeners played a huge role in how we felt about the environment. One can see the direct impact of small changes in a micro system, and one can also benefit by being exposed to the myriad and variables of the life there. We grow everything organically – we even build the soil we grow in with healthy compost and worm castings – amending only with kelp meal and a few minerals.

Dave and I both love the environment itself. I was constantly being called off of the mountains by my mother when I was young – being told to get down from the tree or to come into the house. Dave and I found we love to do soft impact activities, meaning we leave very little footprint when canoeing, hiking or mountain biking. When outdoors, we tend to clean up trails and streams, lakes and beaches… and this led to the lifestyle we have today.

Q: What would you say to someone that just littered in front of you?

Answer: It would depend on the situation I suppose. For me it isn’t about pointing fingers and making judgments or accusations… it is about taking personal responsibility. How much better am I if I decide to walk past that item the person just dropped? However, to answer your question, if it was a friend – I’d confront them with their unconscious action in as kind of a way as possible. Some people just haven’t considered the impact that they have. If it the individual was a stranger I’d probably just pick the item up and dispose of it in the recycling bin. The fact that I took action will not be lost on those around me, whether I decide to make a speech or not. They will see me picking up that garbage and that will spark change in their lives. It might sound corny but it is totally true! Let me tell you this story…

About 9 or 10 years ago I started cleaning up the streets around my neighborhood while walking the dog we had then, and was very shy about doing so. I tried to time it so I was out when my neighbors were at work or when they’d be the least likely to see me – or I’d make Dave come out with me. Eventually the work I was doing spread out a little further and I was cleaning by some busier roads. I often worried what those people driving by must be thinking. Then one day I was approached by a neighbor who said she thought what I was doing was wonderful. Then someone drove by and said a similar thing. Soon I realized that some of the garbage I had seen earlier, but hadn’t gotten yet had been removed… and then I noticed this happening time and time again, even on trails where I thought no one was aware that clean up projects had been done. You see, what happened was that people had witnessed the actions we were taking and began taking action themselves because they could see the direct result of it first hand. I didn’t say a thing to anyone - didn’t lecture them about having litter on their property line… didn’t leave little notes on their doors – I just cleaned it up.

Q: What is some advice you would give to anyone that wants to become an author?

Answer: The best advice any author could receive is: Do your research. Whatever stage you are at, whatever you are facing – research it. Find out the details from other authors and research the person or business you hope to work with. Find out what their guidelines and policies are, make a note of the person you will be dealing with. Provide them with exact and complete information.

Always research your market and query them in a professional manner before sending a finished product. Doing it right is essential - there is but little chance to make an impression with a reviewer, editor, reader or publication. However, even with the best of preparation you will be caught off guard or unprepared. Don't sweat it too much if you make a mistake. Think of it as a lesson.

Q: What inspired you most to write about this topic?

Answer: I felt compelled to leave a real legacy – I realized, through a series of accidents, that all one’s degrees and acquirements, their finances or careers… all of it can be taken away in seconds… and what was that person’s efforts worth? What was their value… the reason why they survived and are here today? These are the driving questions that lead me to reach for new ways of creating positive change in this life.

With deeper understanding into the incredible value of individual actions and how little we realized our value as an individual – I was driven even further. I read a study that said that 66% of us would do more positive actions in life if we really felt that it had a measurable impact. Society is so depressed, we feel bombarded by negativity and yet by taking positive action our emotions become elevated and we feel better about life. At the same time, by taking direct action on a daily basis we save money around the home and office, easing financial burdens.

So with this understanding I have felt compelled to continue this project of reaching others, showing them how they can make a real and measurable difference. I am energized when I find a new way of revealing how waste management –even simple things like composting- has a profound impact on the planet. That is why I’m so excited about our Conscious
Discussions talk radio program – it offers us a whole new way of reaching people giving our life meaning by doing so

The Book Of Names

AUTHOR: D. Barkley Briggs
TITLE: The Book Of Names
OVERALL RATING: 4.00/5.00

Hadyn and Ewan have to live their lives day to day without a mom to guide them. Only a father that spends most of his time behind a desk doing research, while the 2 teens must do chores around the farm.

While clearing brush from a vacant field, a major discovery is found. Sharing this discovery, both brothers, Hadyn and Ewan unlock a gateway to a whole new world. Where Fey and trolls live, along with the darkest evils. And these evils are about to win over the whole land. After meeting up with Eldoran, learning that they have been called to The Hidden Lands by several mysterious black "call" birds, that vanished in thin air, Hadyn and Ewan learn their fate. They may never see home again.

A group forms. A mysterious girl, a stubborn troll, and a powerful man. They set off, dangers leading them. After being betrayed, trapped, and close to death, they overcome the most horrid sites, dangerous adventures, and meet face to face with the most powerful evil. Nemesia.

Her goal is to steal a generation of kids, making them believe they are nothing. They aren't loved. She forms an evil army out of them, having them kill.
Thus, every name of a person that has and will be born recorded in The Book Of Names will be erased, leaving them with no past and/or future.

Are Ewan and Hadyn really strong enough to overcome such an evil? Or is this just a dream created within their wild imaginations? Will they ever get home?

Watch as secrets, and shocking facts unravel within every page of this book.

I had mixed feeling within this novel. In the beginning, I really enjoyed this book, and couldn't wait to see what would become of it. But as I got farther into it, the less I wanted to read it. I guess it sort of dragged on a bit, that I became a bit bored with it. There was enough adventure in it for two books, and I think that might of been a part of the problem. Too much adventure can ruin a book, if you know what I mean. But a book with no adventure is down right boring. This was a clever piece of work though. And in some ways I did enjoy the author's imagination exploding within every page. I guess I would recommend this, but it was sort of slow in the middle to end.


TAGS: adventure, evil, fantasy, darkness, death, kidnapping, other worlds, sci-fi, imagination.


Saturday, December 20, 2008

Congratulations to Sharonanne, the winner of Fun-Read-Friday!!!


Here is what it will look like when someone wins the Fun-Read-Friday contest!! Congrats to this weeks winner, Sharon!!!

Sharon hosts a blog called Sharon Loves Books And Cats. You can see all sorts of stuff by following this link. Sharon's interests includes: reading, cats, surfing the net, and watching television. Since she loves to read, some of her favorite books include: 1984, Century Rain, The Day of The Triffids. Some book categories she enjoys are sci-fi, YA and mysteries. She owns a very sophisticated blog, and gets down and serious about books. She seems like a very reliable reviewer, and I would deffinatly recomend her blog to anyone interested in books, reading, random discussions, and don't forget cats! Great job Sharon!!! Click here to visit her blog.

Friday, December 19, 2008

Friday!

Ok, so this is the first ever Fun-Read-Friday contest at my blog! Click here to read the rules and guidlines if you are new, or cannot remember. Below is the picture you have to guess!!! The person to guess it first/right gets the prize! Click here to learn about the prize! Good luck! I prefer you to email me the answer, but if you want, you can reply to this post. But if you do reply, and you get it wrong, you're narrowing down the answers for other people! Good luck!!!
Guess, Guess, Guess!!!

Friday, December 12, 2008

Revolutionary Road earns awards!!!

I hope you all have gotten the chance to view the advirtisement for the amazing movie Revolutionary Road, soon to hit theatres. Well, it turns out that the soon to be movie has already earned 4 GOLDEN GLOBE NOMINATIONS!!! Yes! You read it correctly, 4!!!!!

Several quotes from the editors, actors, and resent movie stars quoted:

From Winslet:
“I can't believe it! I am incredibly grateful for these nominations. I am so honored and proud to be included this year, in the company of all these incredible women and alongside my on screen and off screen husbands! And to be a part of two of the best picture nominees! I am very very happy today!”
Mendes stated:
“We are all delighted and honored that the Hollywood Foreign Press recognized the film in such a generous way. This was a labor of love for all of us and to see it being received in such a positive way is very gratifying.”
This is going to be the movie of the year
Paramount Vantage's release of the movie received four nominations for this years' Golden Globe, including Best PIcture, Best Actress, Best Actor, and Best Director.


Monday, December 8, 2008

Buggy Crenshaw and the Deadwood Principle: Evolution

TITLE: Buggy Crenshaw and The Deadwood Principle: Evolution
AUTHOR: R.M. Wilburn
OVERALL RATING: 5/5!

Just as an adventure ended for the "powerful" Buggy Crenshaw, another one has just meerily begun. In her last adventure with her two friends, Sid and Veronica, they defeated the powerful Electrolosis, and his plans to take over the world. The same is just beginning.

Buggy has been blind to the clues her experimental dad and secretive mom have tried to give her and her brother Frank about being magical, like all the other residents in Lloyds Hollow. Time is rewinding, and Buggy has to figure out why and how. FAST. When evel starts to represent itself throughout the secret society, only Buggy and her friends can stop it.

Her mom leaves her with mysterious things she says will help her. Along with plenty of warnings. A talking frog called Filly is packed with Buggys things along with many others. But the dreaded frog rhymes, with everything he says, and he makes the journey much more complicated. As she journeys out, her brother tosses her a book, just before he is taken away for safety from the evel Intruders. Felix and The Cowardly King. Even though her brother said this would bring much helpfullness, it would also bring death.

She sets out to find the Mysic cabin, where she will meet up with Veronica and Sid, and where she will also meet up with destiny. But first she meets up with the mysterious Otis Blue, who helped out quite a bit on her last adventure.

But she notices he is trying to keep her away from the cabin, and she has no idea why. She finally summons the cabin, after hours of hiking behind Otis, no idea where he is leading her. Sid and Veronica dont trust Otis. And there might be a reason why. Buggy just doesnt see it yet.

Evel is getting closer, and they know they cannot save the world by themselves. They need to depend on someone of a higher magic status. Someone they must summon before its too late. And thats when Buggy remembers her mom telling her to summon Tara Foxpride, no matter what. After she suggested this to her friends, they scowl in disbelief, thinking Buggy's mom is a traitor of the Greater Good. Is she? Would that explain the flowers she left by Buggys bed, to erase everything about magic inside her mind? Or is it for the Greater Good?

Veronica only believes in magic, not imagination. But if they use magic, that will only attract the evil to them more, and if that were to happen, the whole world will be consumed by it. Having there adventure being taken on by foot, many interesting things happen along the way. Buggy secretly summonsd Felix from Felix the Cowardly King book Frank had managed to give to Buggy just before everything would take place, and he would guide them through. But if Veronica wont believe, they cannot overtake this adventure together. And the evil that cast itself among the Earth, will consume every last one of them. Will Veronica believe? Or will she use magic, and reveal everything they know?
"Drastic times call for Drastic Measures"

I ABSOLUTLY loved this book. In my opinion, it was much more adventurous than the first, and it was a very simple and magical read. Twists and turns grasp each and every page, and no review could explain the magic that lies within this book. I tried to include everything in this book in this one review, but couldn't. There would be so much to explain, it would turn out to be a whole nother blog!!! One thing I thought was very cute, was the rhyming frog, Filly. I absolutly loved his rymes, and found them to be quite clever. I absolutly loved that frog!!! This book was so amazing, I couldnt put it down. Everything came to a surprise to me, even if i suspected it or not. Half the time I didnt even know what would happen, and when I would take a guess, the very opposite would occur. One thing though, that really bugged the heck out of me, was the obnoxious character Veronica. She simply had no imagination, and she only trusted herself and magic. But once she found out from Buggy and Sid's future selves, that she would be dead if she just simply wouldnt believe, everything reversed into a turnaround. There are not enough words to explain this extraordinary story. I highly recommend the first 2 books of this series!!!

TAGS: Mysterious, evil, devil, black magic, murder, adventure, traitor, evolution, inventor, series, cat.

Saturday, December 6, 2008

THE 2 WINNERS ARE.........


Hey! Congrats to Robin for being the first winner of my 2 book giveaway contest! Robin was the first name I drew and TruBlu was the second! Congratualions Robin and TruBlu! Robin will get first choice between the 2 books, Sams Quest, and The Royal Trident! TruBlu will get what Robin did not choose!!!!! Congratulations!

Friday, December 5, 2008

Revolutionary Road sneak peak and previews!



What is it about?

Adapted from the landmark novel by Richard Yates, Revolutionary Road is an incisive portrait of an American marriage seen through the eyes of Frank (three-time Academy Award® nominee Leonardo DiCaprio) and April (five-time Academy Award® nominee Kate Winslet) Wheeler. Yates’ story of 1950’s America poses a question that has been reverberating through modern relationships ever since: can two people break away from the ordinary without breaking apart? Frank and April have always seen themselves as special, different, ready and willing to live their lives based on higher ideals. So, as soon as they move into their new house on Revolutionary Road, they proudly declare their independence from the suburban inertia that surrounds them and determine never to be trapped by the social confines of their era. Yet for all their charm, beauty and irreverence, the Wheelers find themselves becoming exactly what they didn’t expect: a good man with a routine job whose nerve has gone missing; a less-than-happy homemaker starving for fulfillment and passion; an American family with lost dreams, like any other. Driven to change their fates, April hatches an audacious plan to start all over again, to leave the comforts of Connecticut behind for the great unknown of Paris. But when the plan is put in motion, each spouse is pushed to extremes – one to escape whatever the cost, the other to save all that they have, no matter the compromises. Directed by Sam Mendes (Academy Award® winner American Beauty), from a screenplay by Justin Haythe, REVOLUTIONARY ROAD stars Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet and features an accomplished supporting cast including Academy Award® winner Kathy Bates, Kathryn Hahn (Boeing-Boeing) Michael Shannon (Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead, BUG) and David Harbour (Awake). The film’s producers are John Hart, Scott Rudin, Sam Mendes and Bobby Cohen; and the executive producers are Marion Rosenberg, David M. Thompson and Henry Fernaine.










Release Date: December 26th, 2008


Revolutionary Road is a book as well as a movie, soon to hit theaters near you Dec. 26, 08. This is an extraordinary book, and it is highly recomended. The movie will be as well.

Monday, December 1, 2008

Detective Jermain, volume #1

TITLE: Detective Jermain
AUTHOR: Misako Rocks!
OVERALL RATING: 4.5/5.00

Jermain has always had the dream of being a professional detective. Her father died when she was younger, and he also had the dream of being a detective. Now, starting high school, college just months away, she isnt sure what is in store for her in the future. Her 2 friends, that happen to be boys, Andy and Travis, already know where they want to go for college, and they are guiding her, and are there for her, no matter what she chooses. She later finds out both Andy and Travis have huge crushes on her too!
The perfect opportunity for her to use her detective skills when everything at her high schools becomes strange. After a close friend, Mike, gets killed in a car accident, along with a teacher, everyone is acting the same way Mike did before he met his final fate. Clueless. Jermain knows something is up, but Andy and Travis just dont see it. Until people are being mugged, even teachers are acting strange. They follow clues, and decide on many suspects that might be causing this school wide chaos. Until they find out the true suspect. Could it be Claire, and her evil brother causing it all? Or could it be someone close, someone they would never suspect?

At first I wasnt sure how I would like this book. I have never really read a comic before, but once I finished the first page I was hooked. There was just enough romance I could bare (I'm not much of a romance novel fan) and plenty of mysteries! I absolutly loved this book, and nothing else could of been added to make it any better! I cannot wait for the rest of the series to come out, and read more by the author!

TAGS: Mystery, suspence, romance, murder, amazing, fiction, comic, japanese, asian, action, fun, girl

Sunday, November 30, 2008

Lives of Mapmakers

AUTHOR: Alicia L. Conroy
TITLE: Lives of Mapmakers
OVERALL RATING: 2.5/5.0

This one book held many stories. Each a different genre. From fiction to sci-fi, and some didn't even mean a thing. Even though there was supposed to be a particular message in each. There are many different stories in this one book, each telling its own magic. Several were sad, others happy, and some pointless. One story I really enjoyed would be The Nameless Season. I really enjoyed this one because it had a million emotions running through it, it made you wonder. In this one story, The Nameless season, the world was getting hotter, and misery flooded throughout. It tells the story of a girl, that witnesses the Earths fury, and survives. though everything is different, she tries to keep some of the past at her fingertips, wanting everything to become normal again.
Overall, I really didnt care for this book. Some particualiar stories were pretty good, others pointless. No meaning. Usually there was a message that went along with each story, but some were harder to catch. An example would be The One thing I'm good at. It had no meaning at all, and I was a little disapointed. The first one, Mud-Colored Beauties of The Plaines. It began of an amazing discovery of a mysteries sea creature. And how it survived and such. Bad hands get ahold of the creature, and let it escape, and there was no message. This one story probably was one of the best though. I had a really hard time getting through this book. Some of the stories could hardly finish. I wouldnt really recommend this book.
TAGS: Fiction, sci-fi, message, heart, boring, interesting, particuliar, different, genres

Wednesday, November 26, 2008

I've been awarded!!!

Draw Customized Symbols - ImageChef.com
Thanks so much for Writer's Block Reviews for awarding me for my blog!

Since I was awarded, I am going to pass it on to 7 other hard working bloggers! Here they are!

1) Jessica at Chick-Lit Teens for helping me so much with my blog! She has worked super hard on her own blog as well!

2) The Story Siren because her reviews are so great, no matter what her rating is, the reviews make you want to read the book!

3) Oriental Desires because she has such an amazing blog, including those awesome reviews! Keep it up!

4) Bookluver-Carol because she too, has helped me out tons, and she is very kind!

5) The Page Flipper because her site is very simple, and easy to follow up on! I love the name of her blog too!!!

6) Another Page Is Used because she is very kind and fun to talk to, and she has an outstanding blog!!!

And Last but not least!

7!) Lauren's Crammed Book Shelf because she has such an amazing blog, filled with amazing reviews! Always reading the latest books! Great job!

Thanks everyone, and I hope you enjoy this!

But wait!!! In order to fully get these rewards, you have to reward at least 7 other people!
1) Add the logo of your award to your blog.

2) Add a link to the person who awarded it to you.

4) Add links to those blogs on your blog.

3) Nominate at least 7 other blogs.4) Add links to those blogs on your blog.

5) Leave a message for your nominees on their blogs.

THANKS EVERYONE!!

Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Author Interview With Elizabeth Scott!!




Hey!! Please welcome Elizabeth Scott!!! She is the Author in the spotlight for the month of November! I hope you enjoy the questions, and wonderful answers! Thanks Elizabeth!



1) What encourages you to write books such as Living Dead Girl?


A)

Living Dead Girl is much darker than the other books I have out now, and I actually got the idea for it from a dream! I had the dream--the exact same dream--about Alice, from Living Dead Girl, for several nights, and I realized I had to write the book. >


2) Have you ever had writers block? If so, what do you do to get > that out of the way and to continue writing? >


A)I think there are two kinds of writer's block. The first is the > kind where you can't think of anything to write, and the second is > kind is when you're stuk on something you're writing.>> When you can't think of anything to write, it usually means you > need a break--your brain needs some downtime to recharge and relax. > So do lots of fun stuff and tell yourself "I'm not writing! And > that's okay!" And then usually what happens is the day you have > something amazingly fun planned, you get an idea for a story. And > so you go out but spend the whole time thinking about what you want > to write. :-)>> When you're stuck on something you're writing, some people advise > taking a break and thinking about the story, and some people advise > just writing through it. I, personally, have done both. Sometimes I > just take a break and watch movies and tv and read books until I > realize what I need to do, and sometimes I just force myself to > write even though I hate what I'm writing and tell myself I'll fix > it later.>>


3) Where do you like to write?


A) I'll write anywhere--I written in the car (not while driving!), on trains, in the middle of the night sitting in the bath (so I won't wake my husband up!)--but my favorite place to write is in bed. >>


4) What kinds of foods do you usually tend to eat while writing?


A) I don't eat when I'm writing. I tend to zone out--I don't hear or see anything around me. (Which is why I don't listen to music when I write--I just don't hear it)>>


5) What is your most favorite book and why?


A) I can't pick one book as a favorite, sorry! There are too many that I love :-)>>>


6) What catagory of books do you usually read? Fiction, Non- > Ficiton, Sci-Fi, etc?


A) I will read just about anything! (And I really feel that if you want to write, you *must* read--and real all kinds of books)>>>


7) What did you do and how hard was it for you to become a writer?


A) I've had so many jobs it would take forever to list them all! As for how "hard" it was to become a writer--realizing I wanted to write took me a while (a loooooong while!), but when I did, I fell in love with it. I really admire anyone who knows what they want to do before the age of, oh 35 or so. :-) >>


8) What advice would you give to someone that really wants to > write, but doesnt know if they can achieve it or not?


A) Try.>>>


9) Out of all the books you have written, which one is your > favorite, and why?


A) They all have their own place in my heart--some were *so* hard to write, some came out easily--but they've all taught me something.


I hope you all enjoy this wonderful interview! Thanks Elizabeth!


Tuesday, November 18, 2008

Buggy Crenshaw and The Bungler's Paradox

Author: R.M Wilburn
Title: Buggy Crenshaw And The Bungler's Paradox


You're about to enter a world where imagination can be your best friend or your worst enemy."

Buggy Crenshaw was meant to save the world. Her mom always tells her that before dreams fill her mind during the night hours. But little does she know, that is not a lie.

After moving to Lloyds Hollow, it wasnt an accident moving there. She was meant to live there. She was summoned there! By the magical world that lies within Lloyds Hollow. In a world where magic exists, Buggy Crenshaw, and imaginative 12 year old girl, enters a world that is about to be taken over by the dark side. She meets Sid and Veronica, 2 best friends that already have there Talismans, a creature to help them with magic. Learning about the stolen portico, that controls almost evething within Lloyds Hollow, she is sent out on an adventure to rescue it and put it safetly back into the hands of The Greater Good. Mysteries unleash in this adventerous novel. Will the Greater Good be taken over by the bad? Will the world end forever?

I really liked this book, but some parts were hard to get through, or too fake. I liked the imagination part, because it is something different. There was a lot of adventure, maybe too much for a reader to handle. I liked the twists and turns on every page, and since there is a sequel, I cannot wait to see what happens!!!


Saturday, November 15, 2008

My english project. for living dead girl

video I hope you enjoy this! Please, listen to the music while watching it. It is much better that way!




Monday, November 10, 2008

Living Dead Girl

AUTHOR: Elizabeth Scott
TITLE: Living Dead Girl
OVERALL REVIEW: 5/5, amazing!!

Once upon a time, I was a little girl who disappeared. Once upon a time, my name was not Alice. Once upon a time, I didn't know how lucky I was.


"Once upon a time, I was a little girl who disappeared"

At the age of ten, a menacing kidnapper took Alice. The last place Alice was before her life changed forever was the field trip she was so excited about. She would get to see sea Creatures, wearing her very first lip gloss, talking and laughing with friends. Her life was normal. Until she met Ray. Disguising himself as a helper, he took her when she got stranded from her friends. But he was not returing her. Instead she would be taken away from her life full of friends, joy, and everything that she was used to.


"Once upon a time, my name was not Alice."

As Ray took her away from her life, she didnt understand the pain and suffering she would soon go through. Her name changed from Kyla to Alice, and her life changed as well. Abuse, no education, and starvation. Her life on a daily basis.


"Once upon a time, I didn't know how lucky I was"


Until all changed. Having forced to look for a new little girl for Ray to haunt was a daily chore. Spying at the local park, many girls play with there friends, stupid girls, Alice calls them. They dont realize how fast their life could change in a second. And thats when Alice finds Annabel. Also her brother Jake. They visit the park almost everyday. Jake's life is falling apart, and Annabel just gazes up to the sky, swinging as high as she can. Free. Alice tells Ray she has found the perfect girl for him. And thats when their plan goes into play. At the park, all 4 of them are their. But Jake knows something is up with Alice. Her looks, her physical being, and the sadness in her eyes. Alice thinks that when Ray gets Annabel, he will let her go. But will he do what he did to the last Alice? Or will Jake save her and let her return to 623 Daisy Lane?


There are not enough words to explain the feeling I get from this book. Mixed emotions run through each page, some wanting you to tear it up, but leaving you hanging. I hated Ray. And in a way, I hated Alice. But I felt sorry for her, because I couldn't save her. No one should ever go through what Alice had gone through. I hated and loved this book. If that makes sense. The feelings that Alice expressed were real. Almost too real. Threats, abuse, and hate fill this book. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone under 14. This book will be talked about, as Ellen Hopkins says. And she is right.
TAGS: Child abuse, Sad, Hate, realistic fiction, girl, kidnapper, free, dreaming, life

Sunday, November 9, 2008

Mercury Mountain




Julie is one of the luckiest teens ever. Or so she thought. After winning an amazing eco-friendly car, that has many useful gadgets, Julie is on a mission to save her hometown and the world from harmful envirmental issues. Starting off with illegal dumpers, dumping computers and other items that need to be recycled, everything begins to go into a turnaround. Ever since she had won the car, also named Jett, Geisle, one of the popular girls of the school, begins to hang out with Julie and Pete. Learning that Giesles dad works for a special agency, clues start to unravel about the illegal dumbers, putting everones life at risk, and Gielsle and her dad just might be one of them. But will it be too late to save her town from danger?
There were many pro's and Cons to Mercury Mountain. I thought there was too much sarcasm in this book, along with some unbelievable events. Such as a thirteen year old girl knowing so much about the environment, It was kind of amusing to read. But, it did have plenty of adventure and kept the reader waiting to see what happens next in most of the events. Some though, dragged on, and werent so amusing. Other wise, this was a one of a kind book, and I guess would recommend. But it is not a must read book.TAGS: earth, recycle, action, mystery, car, adventure, science, "go green"

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Sam's Quest for the Crimson Crystal

TITLE: Sam's Quest for the Crimson Crystal

AUTHOR: Ben Furman

OVERALL REVIEW: 3 1/2, good


Sam's Quest for the Crimson Crystal starts off with Sam Mae Costas leaving to visit her grandfathers farm for the summer while her parents are off exploring, hoping to find the lost city of Atlantis. Hoping to find an adventure of her own she does. Not even a week passes before she does. One that may risk her life.


The city she ventured to after meeting a minny human on the back of a dragon fly, was Innerworld. One of the many unknown worlds she gets to know. Learning about Innerworlds past, she begins to meet new people. Prince buznor, a young Awok fighting to save Innerworld joins forces with Sam to help there civilization. But, without the help of the Crimson Crystal, one of the 3 important Crystals needed to help defeat the strong Drogon's Army, the world which is digging closer and closer to Innerworld, trying to defeat them, they are doomed. So, with a helpfull dragon fly, Prince Buznor, and her helpfull sidekick Patch, they venture off to unknown, and somewhat dangerous lands in order to find the Crimson Crystal.


Will they make it before its too late? Or is this just a fictional dream Sam has drifted into?


I had many thoughts about this book. Some of the parts of this book, made me wait at the edge of my seat to see what happens next. But other parts just dragged on, and made me a little bored. Over all, this book was well written. But I wouldnt really recommend it to anyone over 14+. Adventure grasped most of the pages as I read it, and I did enjoy it.

TAGS: Adventure, lost, helping, fiction, girl, fun, imagination, grade school- middle school.


Thursday, October 9, 2008

The Unspoken




It all started with an email, invting 5 teens to Harold Crawleys funeral. yes, they destroyed Jacob Crawleys Cult, but they dont tell eachother at first, but thats why all of the survivors go to the funeral. Harold died from drowning, his biggest fear. But the catch is he was found in the middle of a cornfield. Allison, who has had crazy visions about the next person to die is right. She thinks that Jacob was right about his visions. Knowing they were the only 5 people to survive, sudden deaths start to take off while they meet up at a motel after the sad funeral. Starting with Emma, she died from what she was scared of most. When Allison found her face down on her bed, Emma was dead. Her eyes were taken out of her head, just like in her dream. Will allison be next? along with David? Are they the only people left that survived the fire that awful fire to kill Jacob?
I liked this book. But in the middle it was slow, almost to slow. In a way it went too fast also. The suspence was good, and I enjoyed the surprising ending. But it wouldnt be a book I would recommend. TAGS: ghosts, horror, haunting, scary, death, fiction, teenage, graves, murder, exciting, fun, good, creepy, girl, love, book

Wednesday, October 8, 2008

Review for Fabulous Terrible.



First off, I want to thank Amy for having me review this superb book. It was very exciting, and I loved reviewing it for you!
"In six short months your enire life has gone into turnround."

This is exactly what happens to YOU! Yes, you! The book Fabulous Terrible hosts you as the main character. And well, just as you think your life has gone great everything turns horrible. Starting off with the good things, You are excepted into Trumball Woodhouse (TW), an amazing, expencive all girl boarding school in the country. You are different though. You have frightening, recurring "shimmers" that never seem to go away. You havent told anyone about them, ever since your old foster parents never came to get you after promising to provide a new, happy home for you. Not even your current foster parents know about them. So, after applying to boarding schools, to get away from them as much as possible, because you dont want the same thing to happen to you again, TW accepts you. Saying goodbye to Emily, your best friend was hard enough. But is TW going to be all that easy? They call it glamorous, but you call it horror.

So my thoughts about this book are all in different catagories. The things I adored about this is the thought of the Main Character being based upon you, yourself. I could somewhat see myself as the main character, but not always. That is one of the downs of this book.

Another high for this book is the constant adventure and addiction to the Adventures of You. Suspence grasps this book in a way I cant explain. Some people say this book is predictable. I didnt think it was as much. Only at the end when they caught the suspect, you kind of saw it coming. There were surprises at every page and it was deffinatly mysterious.

Tags: mystery, suspence, fun, you, Fabulous, Terrible, friends, evil, woodhouse, Trumbull, excitement, thief, rich, girl, college.



Monday, October 6, 2008

The Host




Ok, so this is one of the many books I am currently reading. It is interesting so far, and I heard it will get way better by the time I hit page 100 or so. If you have read this book, what were your thoughts?? I also have a question about it. How do I know who is talking? between the Wanderer and Melanie, I get confused between both of there thoughts. Help?

Sunday, October 5, 2008

Twilight.


Ok, so I have started to read Twilight about a year ago, but wasnt very interested. I got to ch. 11, and I want to start reading it again. Can someone please help me remember the important parts? Thanks!

Monday, September 22, 2008

Savvy Girl

AUTHOR: Lynn Messina
TITLE: Savvy Girl
OVERALL RATING: 3 1/2- good

Taking control of her summer job for the Savvy Girl Magazine, Chrissy thinks everything is fabulous. So far. Things are weighiong down on her shoulders, columns getting thrown at her, and since there will be a new page added to Savvy, there will be a contest to choose who gets to run their own column. Barely ever getting to be around her best friend, because she is getting invited to tons of awesome parties, with Jessica, a hot model, excuses pile up as the plans she makes with her friends get moved to other days. But will all of this suffering pay off if she ever gets to take control of this column? Will her friendship with Lily end due to all of this?

I liked this book a lot. It had humor and real life issues in it. It was an exciting read, and I would recommend it to any of you who like humorous, and fun books. I rate it 4/5!!!!! I liked it a lot!!!


And thanks so much for having me review it for you! I am so glad I got to be the one to read this great book!!!!!! Thanks again!



TAGS: adventure, chick lit, girl, job, fun

Tuesday, September 16, 2008

The Outsiders


This is a story about a "gang" of friends and brothers, who are more like family than anything. But living with a label, The Greasers, makes them stick together through anything. The Greasers and Socs. are rivals, with the Greasers being more lower class, living on anything they could put to good use, and the Socs. getting everything handed to them without working for it. The Greasers stick together through this epic novel, even with one death. The story unravels through PonyBoys point of view, a member of the Greasers. This story holds the life of a real teen, and everyday struggles. For those who get beaten at home, or feel as if they dont feel loved at home. it shows how a group of boys overcome the most, and stick together. And that is true friendship.
I thought this book was pretty good. The feeling was real, and the setting was also real. The Outsiders novel made me feel lucky that I am who I am, and I dont live with a label. The end was heart-breaking though. I couldnt bare to lose someone I was close to. I really enjoyed getting lost in this book!
TAGS: gang, friends, sad, greasers, socs., action.

Friday, September 12, 2008

The Strand Prophecy book 1






First off, I would like to say thank you to Cheryl for having me review this superior book. I really enjoyed it!!!! Thanks again!!!! So here is the review of the book:

Taking off in front of the White House, the harbringer arises. Knowing that the world is going through a fast paced evolutionary cycle, Strand, the Harbringer, must act quickly to save millions of innocent lives. Strand tries to tell the President all of this info, but he wont listen. He needs proof. He tried once but wont succeed. Releasing the chapters of The Strand Prophecy, that will not even convince the President that the Earth is in grave danger.

Gaia is a place where all of Strands exoskeletons and important experiment's are stored, and half of the time he is known as Steve Cutter. Owning a lab, and discovering strands that are placed on the brain to know more and succeed at more then any human could possibly think of, he has 2 identities. And he must keep Steve Cutter hidden from Strand. Strand battles against mighty forces, and evolutioned animals, that are tougher and more enhanced than ever, while keeping them away from humanity. Now having tough groups of U.S Miliatary Forces gaining on him, wanting him to be destroyed for scarying humanity from the truth, he practically lives on Gaia.

When he discovers Dr. Vitinami, a close friend of Steve Cutter, "dies" due to a "plain crash" ( that was an excuse to hide the real evidence, he really "died" from poisonous animals) in a battle against huge and vicious animals in Brazilia, Steve Cutter almost lost his Niece, Anna, while he was there also, and knew she had to leave, and get far away from his experiments, and danger they will bring. It turns out that Vitinami was paralyzed from a toxin the animals excrete to eat their prey alive. He was a science experiment to the military.

When Stand (Steve Cutter) rescues him, there is nothing for Strand to do to get his old friend back. But he could always make him Vitinami, but something more, just like Stand. So he implants strands to his brain, and makes a black chrome exoskeleton, similiar to Strand's, and they help to save the world together.

E, a helpful doctor aboard Gaia, assists Steve come up with results to help with the dangerous species arising.
But will Strand get caught up with double identies, and lose them, or will dangerous evolutionized animals take over humanity and the Earth?

The Strand Prophecy is a fast paced book that makes you hang off the edge of your seat. Bursting with tons of action and suspenceful moments, it makes you feel as if you are there battling evil with Strand. I recommend this science fiction book to anyone out there looking for a festive-engaging book.








TAGS: action, science, fun, discovery, amazing, end of the world.