Monday, September 28, 2009

Authors, We Know Your Secret: 2010 Book Countdown: Clearup!

Ok... So maybe i made things a little too complicated about my new meme! But dont worry! Im going to clear some things up in this post for you.

The Rules And Regulations:

1) Any blogger can participate, as well as any author and/or publisher that will have a 2010 Book Release.

2) You must post at least 1-2 times minimum for AWKYS (What to post, and such will be found at the next section)

3) You must fill out the participation form at the bottom of this post, if you are able to do this meme.

4) Please, post the image of this meme to your sidebar and/or blog post, leaving a link to THIS post where new bloggers can learn about this as well.


How It Works:

Authors, We Know Your Secret is a 2010 Book Countdown, where you can ask permission from the author and/or publisher of your choice, who may have a 2010 book release, that you are looking forward to in 2010! If you have an author that has accepted this meme, you may either interview, host live chat, promote a giveaway-promotion, etc, to get there 2010 Release as far out as possible to other bloggers who may be interested. But once you get your author, would you please email me at reviewabook123@hotmail, with the date your promoted author will be hosted on, so I could do a daily update of AWKYS around the blogosphere? Please include your blog name/link as well, so I could do an easy hyperlink to you. Authors, you can email bloggers to, if you want to be promoted for your 2010 Release. Just include some info on your book, so us bloggers can take some additional interest in your title. A trailer, summary, photo, additional info site links, your blog link, and possibly a teaser, would be some of the best options!


Ok, so maybe you are too busy, or do not have an author/publisher to promote one week. THAT'S OK! I know how busy a schedule can get, so don't take this meme like a job or whatever. Its just for fun! Just let me know WHEN YOU HAVE AN AUTHOR to promote, so I can add the details to a daily/weekly scoop post on AWKYS! I plan for this meme to kick off October 1st, and I already have some authors pending their decisions, or who have already scheduled some dates! The sooner the better! If your author decides to let you promote their book by a giveaway- or swag giveaway, that's awesome! Please be sure to thank the authors, and let me know, so I could add those details in a post for you as well. The items you are giving away, and ending date would be great to add in as well.

This meme will end January 1st, 2010. I'm thinking about coming up with a Best Author-Book Choice poll, or something like that, to spice up the ending of the 1st Annual: AWKYS!

So, does this clarify things a bit? Basically, it's kind of like Author In The Spotlight, with more promotion opportunities, as well as strictly 2010 Book Releases, and Upcoming Authors of 2010. And what do you think of the name for this meme? I kinda like it.... Please, remember to add the meme button to your sidebar, as well as the starting date and LINK TO THIS POST! Thank you so much, and if you have anymore unanswered questions, or comments, let my know via email or comment to this post.

Authors, are you interested? Email me as well, or a blogger who is taking part in this challenge!

Sign Up Here:

**Instead, just leave your name, email, blog link, posting decisions, such as how often you think you'll post, etc. to a comment for this post!**
[To copy image, just copy and paste into word document, then upload to sidebar, until I can get a link-to widget to make it easier and faster for you]
Here are some upcoming awesome contests and promotions!!

First off. I have a Max Ride Promotion going on now, and ending soon!

My next promotion:
Cirque De Freak prize packs!!!!

later promotions:
1 winner will receive 2 books by Amber Kizer: Meridian, and One Butt Cheek At A Time!
1 winner will receive a hardcover of Path Of A Hero!

And there may be even more coming since my new meme will kick off October 1! Also if the posts I have made about the 2010 meme, didn't make sense. I Will make a clearer post tonight explaining it better!

Sunday, September 27, 2009

In my mailbox!

IMM was started by the amazing Story Siren!!

Here's what I received this weekend!

The borrowed:

The bought:
None (Haha I'm broke at the moment =O)

The received:

-Lockdown by Alexander Gordon Smith
Release Date: October 27, 2009
Copy provided by- InGroup
Summary(Provided By Amazon)
-"Furnace Penitentiary: the world’s most secure prison for young offenders, buried a mile beneath the earth’s surface. Convicted of a murder he didn’t commit, sentenced to life without parole, “new fish” Alex Sawyer knows he has two choices: find a way out, or resign himself to a death behind bars, in the darkness at the bottom of the world. Except in Furnace, death is the least of his worries. Soon Alex discovers that the prison is a place of pure evil, where inhuman creatures in gas masks stalk the corridors at night, where giants in black suits drag screaming inmates into the shadows, where deformed beasts can be heard howling from the blood-drenched tunnels below. And behind everything is the mysterious, all-powerful warden, a man as cruel and dangerous as the devil himself, whose unthinkable acts have consequences that stretch far beyond the walls of the prison.
Together with a bunch of inmates—some innocent kids who have been framed, others cold-blooded killers—Alex plans an escape. But as he starts to uncover the truth about Furnace’s deeper, darker purpose, Alex’s actions grow ever more dangerous, and he must risk everything to expose this nightmare that’s hidden from the eyes of the world."

Title: Dreamhunter
Author: Elizabeth Knox
Copy Provided By: InGroup
Summary (provided by Amazon)
: "Grade 5-9–Laura Hame and her cousin Rose, 14, live in a recognizable early-20th-century society, realistically portrayed but for one thing: the Place, discovered about 20 years earlier by Lauras father. It lies outside geographical boundaries, and only select people are able to enter and experience dreams there. These dreamhunters then perform their received dreams for large theater audiences, and those in attendance go to sleep and experience them. At the time of this story, dreams have become big business and are embroiled in issues of social control (especially the control of prisoners) and power politics. When Lauras father disappears, the girl takes enormous risks first to try to find him, and then to complete his mission. While the author leaves tantalizing clues throughout the novel, the plot moves slowly at first. However, patient readers will find themselves rewarded by the riveting action in the final third of the book. Relationships between the characters, especially Laura and Rose, are given center stage, but their interaction flags in the middle of the book. Particularly touching is the relationship between Laura and a golem-type creature sculpted out of sand in the magical world of the Place. Dry, unchanging, with nothing either fully living or dead, no wind or sounds, it is eerily suffused with atmosphere and powerfully portrayed. This novel, the first of a duet of books, concludes neither with a cliffhanger nor at the end, but in the middle of the action. It will appeal to lovers of fantasy set in the real world, who will eagerly await the resolution in the second volume.–Sue Giffard, Ethical Culture Fieldston School, New York City
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition. "

This is the best week I've had so far lately, but I'm expecting more things coming my way, including some Hush Hush swag!! I am super excited for that! Also, expect a review in the next day or so! Please, comment and tell me what you think!

I also have the first author lined up for the "Authors, We Know your Secret: 2010 Book Countdown" which will kick off October 1st! So stay tuned to the upcoming event you can participate in! It's going to be a blast!

Friday, September 25, 2009

Weekend Reading List:

To get back on track with my reviews, I'm planning on doing a weekend reading list!

Books That Need To Be Reviewed:

*Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick!
*Max by James Patterson (Click here to win 1 of 2 sets in my current promotion!)
*The Texicans by Nina Vida (AITS coming soon!)
*Praying For Snow by Jennifer Reynolds
*Her Strong Tower by Victoria King
*Lockdown by Alexander Gordon Smith**
*Dreamhunter by Elizabeth Knox**
*Meridian by Amber Kizer
*Eyes Like Stars by Lisa Mantchev
*Jumping Off Swings by Jo Knowles
*Rumer & Qix by Kathleen S. Wilson

What I plan on finishing this weekend? Crazy list above huh?! haha!
**Jumping Off Swings
**Hush Hush?
and maybe....
**Rumer & Qix.....

That's my REVIEW pile! I still have to read all of the books I have bought yet! Trust me, you DON'T WANT to see that list! haha!

I'm also going to be getting my blog organized, so I'll be online for a while! Email me at if you would like to chat! I'd love to chat with some other bloggers!

Also, dont forget to read about my new Meme, "Authors, We Know Your Secret: 2010 Book Countdown!" Scroll down and check out some of the posts describing how this benefits authors, publishers, AND bloggers! It's going to be a blast, so sign up!

Thursday, September 24, 2009

"Authors, We Know Your Secret: 2010 Book Countdown" details!

I've decided to stick with the name for my new 2010 book countdown meme to be "Authors, We Know Your Secret!" Do you like it? Also, if you are interested, the button for this new meme is posted on the sidebar, or below on the post explaining some things about this event...

Anyone can participate, once it begins on October 1st. Just sign up on the sign in sheet posted below, so I know who all is doing this as well.

*You must promote an author/book that is coming out in 2010 at least 2 times a week or more, depending on your schedule. I understand if you cannot make a post, or there isn't enough time, but just let me know via email if you cannot make a post.

*Email me once you get an author, so I can post about it on my blog, so everyone else knows who is interviewing/promoting who. (More Details Below)

*If you are participating, please put the button with each AWKYS post, or to your sidebar with a link to THIS post.

*2010 Book Countdown will end January 1st, 2010!

Email me to schedule a post:
*please provide your blog link, date for interview, Person(s) being interviewed, any type of giveaway as well as special offers being added to your AWKYS post. Please, let me know at least 2 days in advanced when you have an interview/promotion set up regarding AWKYS 2010 countdown. I would love for you to do this so I can post about your blog post and get the authors, as well as you, more views.

Does this post make sense? If not, tell me to clarify better! More details coming soon!


Those of you who spread the word on this new meme by linking, and giving the title, plus the button, will each receive an extra entry to my Max Ride Promotion! Please, let me know by commenting to this post, that you have done so. You must have entered the contest first, before receiving any bonus points. If you have not yet entered, please read the post carefully here.

*Post to sidebar, or blog post
*Include: Button(

*Title (Authors, We Know Your Secret: 2010 Book Countdown),
*Link to THIS post, and/or this summary: "If you are interested in learning more about the undiscovered 2010 YA book releases, or want your book promoted, then go Here(Link to this post)"

Comment once you have done so, leaving your link to the post, or sidebar.


Wednesday, September 23, 2009

New Meme Button + WOW

Hey everyone! I have a button for my new 2010 book countdown Meme! And I think I came up with a name for it as well: Authors, We Know Your Secret! 2010 Book Countdown. What do you think?! I love it! If you have a better idea, let me know!

Here is one of the few buttons I will create for you to post on your blog to help spread the word! And I'm still coming up with the whole MeMe, so please be patient! I am planning on starting this on October 1st, so bloggers, please do your part by spreading the word to other bloggers, or even authors if you'd like! I'd really appreciate it! So, here is the button (also posted on my sidebar):

So what do you think?! I kinda like it!
And bloggers?! Please, let me know if you'd like to participate in this meme by signing up below, or commenting to this post! I'd love to send out info to you all to keep you updated! And remember! Spread the word about this!

If you have no idea what I am talking about, please refer here for some details on this new Meme!

As for my WOW pick:

TITLE: Bleeding Violet
AUTHOR: Dia Reeves
PUBLISHER: Simon Pulse
RELEASE DATE: January 5, 2010

SUMMARY (provided by "Love can be a dangerous thing....
Hanna simply wants to be loved. With a head plagued by hallucinations, a medicine cabinet full of pills, and a closet stuffed with frilly, violet dresses, Hanna's tired of being the outcast, the weird girl, the freak. So she runs away to Portero, Texas in search of a new home.
But Portero is a stranger town than Hanna expects. As she tries to make a place for herself, she discovers dark secrets that would terrify any normal soul. Good thing for Hanna, she's far from normal. As this crazy girl meets an even crazier town, only two things are certain: Anything can happen and no one is safe. "

Awesome right?! Haha I know! It sounds very interesting, unique, and mysterious, AND a YA hit! I hope I could host the Author for my new meme to help promote this book, even though it probably will be big without the help of me. I also read that the majority of the buyers for this book, also bought Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick!!! (review coming soon)... I cannot wait for this! Expect a countdown for Bleeding Violet to be posted to my sidebar soon! What do you think?

MeMe Sign Up: Authors/Bloggers/Publishers

Sunday, September 20, 2009

New Meme for bloggers, authors, and publishers!!

I know what new meme I'm going to do, but please tell me if there is already something out there similar that has been created in the past! I'm not trying to steal your Wonderful ideas!

So since 2010 seems to be getting nearer I thought Id start a 2010 book countdown, since there has been a great deal of books every one is looking forward to next year... So... Why not do a countdown type thing that gives authors a chance to get their book even more publicity before it's due publishing date in 2010? Publishers, you can do your part as well by promoting your company by giving exclusives, special offers, Interviews and updates to keep bloggers on track with your upcoming releases!!
Bloggers? Have a book you want to share with the rest of the book community you think will be a hit? Then email me with the title, publisher, release date, summary, and maybe even a teaser or book trailer if possible! Maybe I could even come up with an interview we could do to share your thoughts and opinions on your pick!

The process? Hmmmm.. Everyday would be pretty hard to keep up with, along with the fact that I might not be able to get upcoming releases to fill in the next several months. Maybe, once I get started and see if any authors or publishers start asking me to promote them, then I could do this more often. So I may just post every other day or every 3 days until things get sorted out.

Buttons for this meme will be available for others to use for their sidebars to help spread the word to others who may be interested as well. I will post a poll asking what you think about this meme either below this post or on the sidebar where you can share your opinion!

Authors or publishers please dont hesitate to contact me at if you would be interested in being scheduled for a certain time. I will try and make it work! Also, please include some useful and interesting info on your book if you are offering for me to
promote your release.

Is this new meme making sence? And what should it be called?......

Monday, September 14, 2009

Friends Of The Library info!

Hey everyone! Several things: a review will be coming in very soon, so don't give up on me now, and my Max Promotion will be running until October 1st! I am sending out emails to some book bloggers to spread the news, so you are most likely to get one very soon! Also, expect several memes and a new one created by me, this week!

But the reason for this post is very important!
I have been informed through email by Jessica that there is an awesome book directory you can find online. Not only books are there but magazines, CDs, etc! I guess instead of it being explained by me, which can get confusing? Here, just read the email that was sent to me.

"All across the nation, many Friends of the Library organizations hold book sales that feature cheap books that were either donated or removed from circulation. Typically these sales sell books, CDs, magazines, and DvD's for rock bottom prices. A typical sale will sell most of their items for under 3 dollars.

Being charity organizations, these Friends of the Library organizations often have limited resources to advertise and promote their sales. As such, many people are never made aware of the excellent deals they are missing within their own communities. That's where comes ins. We are attempting to bridge the gap between Organizations looking to more effectively advertise their sale, and people looking to find more places to get good deals on books and media.

Friends of the Library organizations and other non-profit groups can freely advertise their sale on our site. Our site currently has 2500 active listings, and we have been adding over 100 everyday.

People looking to find sales can use our powerful search tools to find these sales. They can search by state, zip code, sale size, and date ranged. Furthermore, people can create an account and save sales to their calendar to help them better track the sales they want to go to. You can also sign up for notifications to be emailed when a new sale in your area is listed, or a reminder email a few days before the sales on your calendar so you don’t ever miss a sale you want to attend.

I believe book sales are a great way to find bargain books and media while at the same time supporting the local libraries and non profits we all know and love. It's a total win-win."

Very informant I'd say! So what do you think? Awesome and money saving right?! It definitely is a win-win! Thanks Jessica!

Thursday, September 10, 2009

Maximum Ride: Max Prize Pack Promotion! Must READ!

Yes, you read the title right! I am going to be hosting a HUGE Maximum Ride Prize Pack Promotion here at reviewabook123, all thanks to Dina Vathis! Thank you! And guess what?! There will be 2 winners that will each receive a prize pack with 8 books per pack!
The (2) Winners Will Both Recieve Each Of The Following:
Maximum Ride: Max (paperback)
Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment (paperback)
Maximum Ride: School’s Out – Forever (paperback)
Maximum Ride: Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports (paperback)
Maximum Ride: The Final Warning (paperback)
Maximum Ride: Manga (paperback)
The Dangerous Days of Daniel X (paperback)
Daniel X: Watch the Skies (hardcover)

First things first:

Read “MAX”
- the newest book in the bestselling Maximum Ride
On sale in paperback 09/01/09!
Still reeling from their most recent
adventure, Maximum Ride and the rest of the flock must head out to sea to
uncover the secret behind a brand new series of disasters—fish are dying off the
coast of Hawaii , hundreds of ships are being destroyed. As if that
weren’t enough, they’re also being tracked by a criminal mastermind with, oh
yeah, an army of mercenaries. Can the flock save themselves and the
ocean, and the world, from utter destruction?

**The Fine Print: IMPORTANT!**

The Maximum Ride: Max Promotion is open to legal US residents who are at least
13 years of age as of August 24, 2009. There will be two prizes for each
Promotion. Each prize consists of the following eight (8) books: Maximum
Ride: Max (paperback); Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment (paperback); Maximum
Ride: School’s Out – Forever (paperback); Maximum Ride: Saving the World and
Other Extreme Sports (paperback); Maximum Ride: The Final Warning (paperback);
Maximum Ride: Manga (paperback); The Dangerous Days of Daniel X (paperback); and
Daniel X: Watch the Skies (hardcover). The approximate retail value of
each prize is $72.00. Winners will be confirmed on or about September 28,
2009 by email. Prizes will only be shipped to confirmed winners with
addresses in the US . Prizes will be shipped within 30 days after a selected
entrant is confirmed as a winner.
MAXIMUM RIDE: MAX (Paperback Release)

Entrants who follow and post promotion on their sidebar and/or blog post will earn an extra entry! Please, fill out all of the required information below in the entry box, and you will be entered for your chance to win 1 of 2 prize packs!
Contest ends October 1st!

Wednesday, September 9, 2009

Waiting On Wednesday

This week, there are so many books that I am looking forward to, I just couldnt post one. And I guess it's alright, since I havent done a WOW post as often as I should...

Title: Perfect Mistake (Privlege #3)
Author: Kate Brian
Pub. Date: Oct. 27, 2009
Summary: "Kate Brian's Beautiful Disaster brings Ariana Osgood back into the life she is accustomed to, the only questions is, what will she do to hold onto it "

Why this one? Duh! Kate Brian of course! She is one of my most favortite authors ever, and Private/Privlege series has to be the top selling series! Awesome job Kate!

Title: Scandal (Private Series)

Author: Kate Brian

Pub. Date: March 9, 2010 (Make it come faster please!)

Summary: "Kate Brian's Private series gets even better when Reed returns from her horrific vacation. "

Why this one? Wow! Another book being published by Kate Brian! Though, I havent finished the series yet, I am glad that there is one more being added so it wont end as fast! (yes, it's that good of a series!) Maybe I could snag an ARC?

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

New Weekly Meme for Reviewabook! And Update!

It's been a while since I have posted up a popular meme, so I figure, why not come up with my own! My idea? Well... that... needs some more details and such to make it entertaining and worth reading and waiting for. But, what I was thinking was on every Tuesday, or every other Tuesday, I could post a live conversation with a generous author via email. I'm not so sure on details and such, but if any blogger out there that might have a creative idea, please email me!!! I need help! Haha!

Authors? What can your part be? Simply email me once I get things figured out, and we could go over the process together! I will definitely get you in for a date on any Tuesday, if that particular date is open. Also, don't forget, if you would like to be promoted in any way, whether it may be through a contest, Author In The Spotlight, book information, or exclusive information on your current or upcoming book. Its that simple! I'd love to help you out through promotions!

Other updates? My blog hasn't been updated as much, and I am sincerely sorry! I guess I couldn't blame it fully on schoolwork, but in some way, laziness? School has drained me. Oops... did I just blame it on school again? Bah, oh well.

I AM NOT FORGETTING ABOUT MY SITE! Just thought you should know! I plan on getting on a schedule (thanks to Laina for the brilliant inspiration) and getting in more reading time and blog time!

Also, if you haven't noticed, I have a new theme. What do you think? I love it! It's exactly what Ive been looking for! And I know, some people emailed me recommending 3 columns, but this one is the one that stuck out the most to me, and I hope you all enjoy it as much as I do!

Expect a WOW post tomorrow, and a book review coming soon, as well as several Author Interviews, and an awesome promotion coming soon as well!!!

Now, off to school work! I'll keep you updated on any other things I had forgotten to mention in this rather long post! Thanks, and be watching for that promotion post!!! Trust me, it's going to be totally worth it!
And thanks to those who had entered the furniture contest as well! That was awesome, wasn't it?!