Thursday, March 26, 2009

And the winner is...

Hey everyone! Sorry about my winner not being posted up right away! I had so many things to get caught up on this week, I have hardly the time to update my blog! And because I didnt get the winner up like I promised, each person that entered for their chance to win a signed copy of Jewels Treasured By Her Family will get an additional entry!!!

So, here it is!

The winner is......
I have already emailed you! Congrats!!!
And thanks for everyone that participated in my contest!!!

Saturday, March 21, 2009

The Silent Note

TITLE: The Silent Note
AUTHOR: Patrick Davis

The whole love saga began with a death, and an old piano. Maria, John's wife, always loved to collect antiques, wondering what their story was. Not understanding exactly what Maria meant, and why she loved to collect things that were of no use in the technology era, their current era, John though, would soon to find out.
Sadly, Maria dies of an internal illness, leaving her husband, John, and six year old daughter, Melissa with many of the old antiques she collected through-out her short lived life time. Including a piano that holds a daunting love story, ready to be unveiled.
When John's life can't get any more depressing, he discovers a box holding letters, a photo of a man and lady dated back to the early 1900's, and a heavy fountain pen, hidden inside of the piano while fixing the tune. Curiosity gets the best of him, and he begins to read letters sent and received between a girl, and gentleman, calling upon each other for visits. Elsa and Grant have been writing back and forth in the span of 2 years, also visiting for holidays. Elsa, who loves to play the piano, and has a very unique talent, cannot let a relationship get in between her love affair with music. Planning to be a music teacher, she must focus on her future only. Not relationships, or callings. But Grant is too good to be held up. A pure gentlemen of his time. She knows he cares deeply for her, but she can't lose interest in her piano skills, or becoming the music teacher she has always wanted to become.
The letters display this feeling, but the deeper the letters get, the more Elsa is determined to be with Grant. Even though her father has a hard time dealing with the fact that his only daughter could be proposed to any second, he cant seem to let her go.
Meanwhile, John must find out what happened to Elsa and Grant when the letters give no more clues as to what happened between the loving couple. Not knowing how many secrets that one piano holds, John must unlock the secrets that have been kept inside for so long. How far will he go to find the truth?
Yes, the title is a very intriguing one at the most. Including the summary on the back, making the reader want to know what that one silent note has to do with the story, but I for one, didn't care for it. You had to be really patient to get through it, and some parts just dragged on, or could have been left out. I also came across repetitive words between sentences that really bugged me. The letters between Elsa and Grant were very interesting, and in a way haunting. It seems so long ago that these letters were written. It took a while to get into the whole story line, but at the beginning of the end, it really starts to pick up. Obstacles begin to unravel, and that's when it becomes very interesting.
This book, I couldn't connect, or understand the characters at all. I felt as if I were just staring at words on a page, not really becoming a part of the story. There wasn't much action involved, and that might of been part of the problem of me disliking this story. The story itself was in a way, depressing. Just because the death of John's wife, Maria, and while reading the old letters. It made me feel as if time is going way to fast, even if this book was a work of fiction. Overall, I don't think I would really recommend this book. In less your into historic romances, or mysteries, I don't think you would get much out of this book. There is a second book to this one, called Return to Kingston. I doubt I will read that one.

Friday, March 20, 2009

In My Mailbox

This week I got:

Invitation Only: A Private Novel
Summary: Reed Brennan's future is looking as bright as the two-karat diamonds in her new housemates' ears. Being accepted to the most prestigious private boarding school in the country wasn't enough for Reed. She had to break every rule to do it, but she has accomplished the impossible:
Reed is a Billings Girl now.
And with her new status come respect, envy, and, most important, opportunity. Not to mention the parties. Unfortunately, at the next illicit party in the Easton campus woods, her roommate snaps some pictures of Reed in more than one compromising position. She uses the photos to blackmail Reed: Dig up dirt on the most powerful and popular Billings Girls or she will have Reed expelled.
And speaking of parties, the Legacy is coming up. It's the invitation-only Halloween party in NYC and it's rumored that Thomas -- Reed's MIA boyfriend -- will be making an appearance there. Too bad Reed isn't even close to invited.
Life as a Billings Girl is every bit as glamorous as Reed imagined. What she didn't bargain for is the tangled web of private lies these girls weave.

Also Known As Harper
Summary: Harper Lee Morgon is an aspiring poet, which isnt surprising, seeing as how she's named after her mama's favorite writier, Harper Lee. And life is giving her a lot to write about just now. Daddy up and walked out, leaving them broke. Then Harper's family gets evicted. With mama scrambling to make ends meet, Harper has to stay home from school to take care of her little brother, Hemingway. Their whole world has been turned upside down, which Harper could just about handle--if it wasnt for the poetry contest at school. If only she could get up on that stage and read her poems out loud...

The One
Summary: Chloe Gamble knows three things: she's better than the tiny Texas town she grew up in; there's just one person she can trust; and she wants to be famous. And what Chloe wants...Chloe gets.
Ok, so these are all the books I have recieved this week. I know I will enjoy them all!
I had recieved Invitiation Only from
Also Known As Harper from InGroup
The One from PulseIt!
Review will be up soon!!! This event was started by The Story Siren!

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

Teaser Tuesday

OK, so this is my very first Teaser Tuesday event, and I am excited! I figure I need a break from the book report in which I am creating at the moment, so here it goes!

..."What the hell are you guys doing?" I whimpered, squeezing my eyes closed. The banging, mercifully, had stopped. I pressed both palms into my forehead to keep my brain from gouging its way out.
"It's chore time, new girl." Noelle said...

The book this snippet came from is called Invitation Only by Kate Brian. It is, of course, a Private Novel, that I had just received today from Amazon, my very first order from them too!!! I read a few pages out of it, and I am already hooked. Too bad I need to finish my other review books before I even get to the first chapter... Hope you enjoyed my very first Teaser Tuesday!!!!
If you are like me, and want to start this awesome event, here are the rules!
  • Grab your current read, and let the book fall open to a random page.
  • Share 2 teaser sentences from that page, between 7-12 lines.
  • Share the title of the book that you are getting the shared teaser from.
  • Try to avoid spoilers.
  • So get started!!!

Saturday, March 14, 2009

Reminder For Contest!

Hey! I just wanted to remind you all that my contest is still running! 1 lucky winner will get a chance to win a signed copy of Jewels Treasured By Her Family. I also reviewed this book, so search for the title on the search button on my sidebar! If you have not yet signed up for my contest, click here!

I also want you all to know that I will be having an upcoming Spring-Fling Contest, where there will be two winners, for a surprise copy of a book! Stay tuned! If you would, please put my first contest onto your sidebars, and notify me once you have done so! Thanks so much!

Thursday, March 12, 2009

Alternate Covers: Living Dead Girl

I was searching on google looking for book covers for my new header, when I went to type in Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott. Thus, I came across a new cover!

I'm not exactly sure which one I like better. I think the first one displays more of the moral story, while the second one leaves you wondering a bit more what the book is about. I think the second one is cool because it is simple, yet mysterious. But I like the second one also because of how cool, and meaningful it is once you read the book. So, which one do you like?

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

Waiting On Wednesday:

I have just started the Private series, and I absolutely love how it is written, and all the characters through out it. Even though I will only be starting on the second installment of the series, I look forward to finishing it.

So, as I was searching the web, I came across the next book to the Private Series! It is called Suspicion. A very Suspicious title huh? Well, as you can tell, I absolutely cannot wait to get my hands on this book after I get done with the rest of the books.

And then there is this book, which is already out, but I am going to be getting it for my birthday in June. So technically, its not out yet for me! I'm sure you all have heard of it, or at least read it. It's called Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. It looks and sounds super good, so I cannot wait to get this in a couple of months! Here is a summary:

"When Clay Jenson plays the casette tapes he received in a mysterious package, he's surprised to hear the voice of dead classmate Hannah Baker. He's one of 13 people who receive Hannah's story, which details the circumstances that led to her suicide. Clay spends the rest of the day and long into the night listening to Hannah's voice and going to the locations she wants him to visit. The text alternates, sometimes quickly, between Hannah's voice (italicized) and Clay's thoughts as he listens to her words, which illuminate betrayals and secrets that demonstrate the consequences of even small actions. Hannah, herself, is not free from guilt, her own inaction having played a part in an accidental auto death and a rape. The message about how we treat one another, although sometimes heavy, makes for compelling reading..."
Now you all know why everyone is talking about this book! Can't wait!

Rubies In The Orchard

TITLE: Rubies In The Orchard
AUTHOR: Lynda Resnick

Rubies In The Orchard is a book that tells you how to jump start your own business successfully. To start that business, you need to find your Rubies in the orchard. In order to be successful, you need to think inside the box, and become one with your thoughts, and concsiounce. Don't listen to the negatives people may throw at you, but follow what you believe, and what you think is right for you and your ideas. Starting off a business with confidence is your best source of positive relations. What ever you are trying to sell, make sure it is something you would buy if you were the consumer of the product. Make it a dependable product that will last through-out a long period of time. When jump starting a business, do your homework! Research what other things companies have done to make them successful in the long run, and get advice. Whether it be pomegranates, bottled water, game boards, etc. it should be what the consumer has in mind, and more! This book supplies much info for one who is interested in profiting in the marketing/company world.

I honestly have to admit it without being too cruel. I disliked this book so much. It was not something I was interested in, or will ever be interested in. The facts were great, though for someone who wants to be enlightened in all this marketing and product info, but not for someone reading it for the joy of reading. Finding myself very confused in some of the messages the author was trying to display, I felt like giving up on this read. But I pulled through as best as I could, finding myself bored with the text. Don't get me wrong, there were tons of facts, and ideas within the hardcovers, but it didn't brighten my attention anymore than what it was. One thing that really caught my attention was the fact that this book was supposed to help the reader uncover the hidden gems in THEIR business. I felt this whole book was a boasting session. It didn't help you that much, other than teach you what the author had done through-out her business. Honestly, I didn't learn much. It talked about money, and how much they spent in advertisement, research, etc, I felt as if this was more of a biography other than a self-help genre. I wouldn't recommend this book to someone that is reading for the fun of it. You have to be down-right serious about starting a business if you read this book... I hate to be so harsh.

Tuesday, March 10, 2009


TITLE: Private
AUTHOR: Kate Brian

Reed Brennan has escaped her home of lost hope, onto a campus full of hope. New beginnings, fresh start, different people, and then there's the Billing Girls.
It doesn't take long for Reed to discover them, since they are the most popular, smart, and rich girls on campus. The extra info comes from her newly made friends, who can be a little annoying from time to time. The beginning school day starts off with a strange encounter with Thomas, a dreamy popular boy, who is in which rich, and don't forget, his parents donate a big wad of cash from time to time.
Reed tries to be successful in this new, prestigious school, but she begins falling behind, on her new scholarship she in which won. What will it take for her to catch up? The Billings Girls.

Reed, a.k.a, Glass-Licker, to Noelle, the leader of the Billings, gets to know her more, almost too much. They agree to help her, after several meetings at lunch, and several risky missions for Reed to go through. Grades begin to catch up, the teachers don't seem to get any brighter or nicer, but Thomas becomes more unresisting... Until the secrets unravel.
Are the Billings Girls somehow connected to Thomas's filthy plan? Or did the Billings plan to ruin it for Reed?

This book was a fresh read, that I couldn't put down, for the most part. I loved the mysterious sense of this novel, leaving me hooked until the very end. But some parts were less extravagant. The little, less important ones were the most boring, but I was luck it picked up from where it left off. My thoughts are pretty good on this book, nothing majorly wrong with it. I am becoming more and more in love with books like these, thanks to Kate Brian's other start-off series, Privilege. I loved the characters in this plot, and how it ended. They were ordinary, not your typical every day superhero. The feelings were so true, I felt as if I were right there with Reed, trying to become part of The Billings. Noelle was a very different character. At times she could be a real snot, other times she could be very sensitive towards Reed when it came to Thomas. But I think this book went to fast, and kind of left the reader confused. More detail, and events should of taken place. Otherwise, this was a pretty worth reading book!

Saturday, March 7, 2009

Author In The SpotLight! ~March~

Please Welcome Marchs' Author In The SpotLight!

L.M Owens!

Please leave your comments!

1) What are some of your favourite hobbies?

Aside from writing, I love music, knitting, quilting, gardening, hunting, fishing, and spending time w/ my family

2) When writing, what do you do for brainstorming?

I dont really brainstorm, everything is in my head, I also write names and other ideas down as they come to me so they are readily available should I get stuck on something.

3) Do you ever get bored with writing?

No way, that would be like getting bored with icecream, with so many flavors how could you possiblly get bored?

4) What are some of you favorite authors/books and why?

Dean Morrissy, his artwork and his stories are amazing (even though he writes for children) and he gets the imagination going into overdrive. The Dragonlance Series is awesome, again they too kick the imagination into high gear, especially those written by Margret Weis and Tracy Hickman. Terry Pratchett is another one who winds up the imagination. Not only is he a great writer but he also puts humor in his stories, and we could all use a laugh now and again. I also like crime novels, both fiction and nonfiction such as "Presumed Guilty" The Scott Peterson case...excellent read and a BIG eye opener.

5) Where do you like to write the most?

I would love to have a log cabin up in the mountains of Maine to do my writing in the peaceful serenity of nature, however I dont have that luxury so I am stuck in my little office at home.

6) Do you go through writers block a lot?

Not really, my biggest problem is concentrating on one book at a time. I have so many in my head sometimes I think it will burst.

7) Do you have any funny childhood/teen-hood memories that make you laugh?

Oh boy do I! I was a goofy eccentric kid. One memory that comes to mind is when I was about 9 yrs old I wanted to be a standup comedian so, I went around to my family & friends, my friends parent, my parents friends, teachers and anyone who would listen and serveyed them as to whether I was funny or not.

8) When do you write the most?

I am at my best between 8 and 11 am. When I am writing a mannuscript, I let it be known to everyone not to call me before 11 in the morning Mon-Fri. I view this as my "work" and I hate the interuption in my thought process, sometimes you lose a good flowing sentance or paraghraph due to interuptions and I hate that.


L.M Owens is the author of Darious, Prince Of Legend and Darious, Master Of Dragons!

Wednesday, March 4, 2009


Do you remember my review for Jewels Treasured By Her Family, and how I said it was such a great book?

Well, 1 lucky winner will get the chance to win a signed copy, including 3 bookmarks, for Jewels Treasured By Her Family!

Here are the rules:

  • You must live in the U.S. Sorry!
  • You MUST comment to this post including your name, email, and/or blog link to get at least 1 entry

Additional Entries:

  • For 1 entry: Comment to this post, including email, name, and/or blog link
  • For an additional entry: Post this contest to your blog, including the link, the prize, and when the contest ends. Email me once you have done so, so I can mark you down!
  • For 2 additional entries: If you are already a follow, you will recieve 2 additional entries once you comment to this post! If you DO NOT, but will begin to follow after you read this, you will get 1 additional entry! 2=followers/1=nonfollower that will begin to follow! Once you follow me, email me or tell me at this post!

I will also include a random question every other day on the sidebar...the first person to email me with the correct answer, will receive an extra entry automatically! This event starts once I get 4 contestants to this contest! Once you have already answered 3 of the questions, you cannot answer anymore!!! I will keep track!

Maximum entries you can get: 6 per person!
Minimum entries you can get: 0 or 1
Special Thanks to Julia Johnson for donating a copy!

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

House of Night, Hunted sneak peak! Exclusive previews ahead!!!

Hey everyone! I am so excited to let you all get a sneak peak of the upcoming book to the popular series, House of Night, called Hunted!!

"...The House of Night is a thrillingly engaging book series from St. Martin's Press. The series follows 16-year-old Zoey Redbird, who gets “Marked” by a vampyre tracker and begins to undergo the Change into an actual vampyre..."

Below is an exclusive book trailer for the upcoming novel!

You can click here to go directly to the youtube channel, supporting this book also.

Cool trailer huh? If you want to read the very first chapter to this thriller, click here!!!

For an audio clip of the second chapter:

Hope you enjoy all the provided info! I know I did!

Monday, March 2, 2009

Elijah's Coin

TITLE: Elijah's Coin: A Lesson For Life
AUTHOR: Steve O'Brien

That one robbery changed Tom's life forever, other than the sick murder of his innocent mother. Tom seeks revenge for the person who broke into his house while his mother was home alone. He seeks revenge for the man that changed his life. But he find yet another man that will forever change his hectic, criminal life. In a positive way.

Elijah: Strange, old, wise, speaks of nonsense
Tom: Criminal, practical, pathetic, lonely, taker-not a giver.

During a stupidly planned break in, Tom was caught. But something strange happens. After cleaning up the mess of an attempted run from the store, a man named Elijah stops him. Not to arrest him though. To enlighten him. And that's when his life was changed for the better.

..."What do you seen when glancing at a fence post?" He noticed the look on my face. "Think about it before you answer."
..."I don't know. You see...I guess you see, between the fence posts, and after a while you cant see the fence posts as they go by. Kind of like a sideways movie"
..."Okay, now we're getting someplace. You know what you see between the fence posts?"
..."I have no idea. What?"
From Elijah's Coin, Page 23
Now the lesson begins. Tom is sent on a mysterious quest, he is yet to solve. After meeting up with 3 people who have had their lives touched by Elijah,Tom must figure out what Elijah tried to teach him. His quest begins to figure out this odd message veiled between the gift of giving, and the act of taking. But when he visits a local city Mission, he discovers one of the three guys died. But he lived to give.

When going back to Cashions to start the second meeting with Elijah, he realizes after several frantic bangs, yells, and a pathetic plea to the police to search for him inside, that an Elijah King never existed. Ever. At least, not in this lifetime. The only thing that he is left with that keeps him from believing the meeting was a dream, includes the two gold coins given to him, by Elijah himself. Even the coins are odd. One side, marked with the 2 letters EK and a weird design, along with the other side marked with G2G. Jumping to conclusions, he believes EK stands for the initials of Elijah King. Makes sense, right?
No sightings of Elijah have been declared, leaving Tom to fend for himself on this awkward journey. Determination full-fills Tom, and he sets off to find Elijah himself. But he found him where he least expected him.

Elijah King
He taught us how to live.
In all things you must give in order to get.
To be successful, evoke kindness.
Observe, think, believe, act
Years have past, Tom learned. But one thing may turn him into the wrong person he once was. A man. A man that effected his life so much in the past. A man that came for Tom's help, sent by Elijah himself. What will Tom do when the past comes to haunt him?

This book was so powerful, I felt as if I were the one living the message. Everything was so thought provoking, and strong, I couldn't believe one person could come up with something so deep. There were so many twists, turns, happy, and sad moments. By the time I finished this book, I was left deep in thought, just thinking about it for myself, and what it meant for me. I don't think there are any words out there to explain how deep, and emotional this book reached. I believe it has changed me in a way, only you can discover by reading it for yourself. Watching Tom elope into a totally different person that once turned to crime to avenge everything bad in his life, into a person that gives, cares, and puts time into other people, not himself, was very interesting. There were so many powerful quotes in this book, I wrote some of them down, hoping to memorize them. You will definitely be enlightened by this powerful, meaningful book.
I highly recommend this to anyone.

And, I was thankful enough to receive 2 of the coins Tom got from Elijah! I will include pictures later, so we can all share the message these coins carry!!!

Sunday, March 1, 2009

Alternate Covers! City of Ashes!

Ok, I was looking for a summary for the book City Of Ashes, and came across a completely different cover!

Here is the original:

And here is the other:

Personally, I like the first one. Its much more detailed, and more provoking than the other one. Though, the second one is a little bit more mysterious looking.
Which one do you like?

Also, do you like my blog layout? Just wondering!